11 chosen for Bangla Academy awards | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

11 chosen for Bangla Academy awards


Eleven personalities have been declared recipients for Bangla Academy Shahitya Puroshkar for 2016.
Director General of Bangla Academy Shamsuzzaman Khan unveiled the names at a press briefing on Thursday at the Bangla Academy auditorium.The recipients are Altaf Hossain (poetry), Shaheen Akhtar (fiction), Abdul Momen and Dr. Atiur Rahman (jointly for essay), Moniruzzaman (research), Abdus Selim (translation), Tajul Mohammad (literature on Liberation War), Faruk Chowdhury (biography and travelogue), Masum Reza (drama), Sharif Khan (science, technology and environment) and Sujan Barua (juvenile literature). Bangla Academy celebrated its 60th founding anniversary on Thursday.A discussion was organised at the Bangla Academy main auditorium in the afternoon marking the diamond jubilee.Finance Minister AMA Muhith was the chief guest at the programme while Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor, West Bengal Bangla Academy President Sauli Mitra and Bangio Sahittyo Parisad President Baridbaran Ghosh were special guests with Bangla Academy president Prof Emeritus Anisuzzaman in the chair.Bangla Academy director General Prof Shamsuzzaman Khan gave the welcome speech at the discussion.Meanwhile, a commemorative lecture on ‘Abdul KarimSahitya Bisharad’ was held before the discussion .Writer and researcher of Chennai, India VB Ganeshan delivered the lecture.Country’s renowned litterateurs and writers and those involved with Bangla Academy since its inception also attended the diamond jubilee porgramme.
Greenwatch Desk


Comments are closed.