25 AL-men unopposed, no Bnp chairman candidate in 71 UPs | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

25 AL-men unopposed, no Bnp chairman candidate in 71 UPs


A total of 3,568 chairman aspirants, including 738 of ruling Awami League and 668 of BNP, have filed their nomination papers in 738 Union Parishads (UPs) to contest the first phase of election slated for 22 March.
According to statistics provided by the Election Commission secretariat, 25 chairman candidates from ruling Bangladesh Awami League are, however, set to be elected unopposed as their UPs got single candidates.
Besides, 148 chairman hopefuls nominated by Jatiya Party submitted their nomination papers in different UPs.
The data about the 738 UP candidates were available as of Tuesday.
Of the chairman aspirants, 1,900 filed the nomination papers as political party candidates, while 1,668 as independent ones.
Out of the 40 registered political parties, 16 are contesting the election for chairman posts as it will be held along party line for the first time in the country.
Apart from major political parties, Islami Andolan Bangladesh fielded 245 chairman candidates for the first phase polls, while Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Inu) 30, Workers’ Party 24, Jatiya Party-JP (Monzu) 20, BNF 7, Bikalpadhara Bangladesh 5, CPB 4, Jamiyate Ulamaye Islam Bangladesh 2, Bangladesh National Awami Party 2, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Rab) 1, Bangladesh Kalyan Party 1, Bangladesh Tarikat Federation 1 and Jaker Party 1.
Though eight other parties earlier submitted letters to the Election Commission informing the names of authorised persons for giving authentication letters in favour of their respective party’s candidates, the parties did not field their candidates finally.
The eight parties are Biplabi Workers’ Party, NPP, Islami Front Bangladesh, Khelafat Majlish, LDP, Krishak Sramik Janata League, Islami Oikya Jote, Bangladesh Islami Front.
The Commission on February 11 announced election schedules for 752 UPs for the first phase. Subsequently, the EC postponed elections in 13 UPs on various grounds. – Agencies


Comments are closed.