31BNP leaders dropped from Matsabhaban asron case | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

31BNP leaders dropped from Matsabhaban asron case


The Detective Branch (DB) of police on Monday submitted the charge sheet against seven people dropping the names of 31BNP leaders and activists, including Standing Committee member MK Anwar and Joint Secretary General Rizvi Ahmed, in a case filed for an arson attack that killed a policeman near Matsya Bhaban in the city.
The charged was submitted against BNP leader Habibunnabi Khan Sohel and six other low profile leaders and activists of the party. Police Constable Shamim Mia, 28, suffered injuries on his head while trying to escape the petrol bomb attack on a police bus on January 17. The attack left 13 cops injured. After 19 days’ treatment, Shamim succumbed to his injuries at Square Hospital of the capital.The other accused are New Market Thana unit BNP President Abdus Sattar, its two members Mohammad Alfaz and Shah Alam, Dhaka College unit former JCD President Anwar Hossain alias Tipu, Dhaka South City Corporation Ward-18 BNP Acting President Mohammad Hossain and Gauchhia Market unit BNP member Mohammad Rafiq Akand. Of them, Sohel, Anwar and Sattar were shown fugitives while four others were earlier arrested and they are now in the jail custody.
Sub-Inspector Dipak Kumar Das of DB and also the Investigation Officer of the case, submitted the charge sheet to the Chief Metropolitan Magistrate’s Court of Dhaka, showing 23 people as prosecution witnesses.
He appealed to the court to issue arrest warrants against the fugitives. He dropped the names of 31BNP leaders and activists, as investigation did not find their involvement in the arson attack. – Court Correspondent


Comments are closed.