ACA's tough stance threatens Australia's BD tour

ACA’s tough stance threatens Australia’s BD tour


Dhaka – Australian cricketers have decided to boycott all international tours unless a new Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) is agreed between the Cricket Australia (CA) and the Australian Cricketers Association (ACA).The decision came in an executive committee meeting of ACA held in Sydney on Sunday with a large gathering of male and female cricketers.In the meeting, the ACA passed out a resolution of 14-point demand where there is a clear threat to Australia’s tours of Bangladesh and India.The clause-6 of this resolution stated that players have strong desire to tour Bangladesh and India, but there are no professional cricketers presently obliged or available to tour without signing an MoU.”Players expressed a strong desire to tour both Bangladesh and India and urged CA to support them by renewing an MoU on fair terms, allowing the tours to proceed. However, due to the fact of unemployment and the resolution above, absent an MoU there are no professional cricketers presently obliged or available to tours,” it reads.It also confirmed that all players, whether on multi-year deals with their states or not, will refuse to play without an MoU.ACA chief Alistair Nicholson, Australia A team captain Usman Khawaja, former all-rounder Shane Watson and former woman cricketer Clea Smith disclosed the details at a press briefing after the ACA meeting.The dispute between the CA and the ACA started as the CA took an attempt to demolish the 20-year-old arrangement of giving players a fixed share of revenues, in favour of dividing surpluses among elite players and offering a pay rise.The 14-point resolution also threatened Australia A team’s tour of South Africa this month and this year’s Ashes series against England.Australia are scheduled to arrive in Bangladesh on August 18 to play two Tests and a two-day practice match.The two-day tour game is scheduled to start on August 22 in Fatullah.The first Test is scheduled to start on August 27 in Dhaka while the 2nd one on September 4 in Chittagong.The tour was originally scheduled to be held in 2015, but was postponed by CA due to security concerns after advice from the Federal Government.Australian announced a 13-man squad on June 16 while Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a preliminary squad on June 22 for the series.


Comments are closed.