Friday , August 23 2019
Breaking News
Home / Sports / Football / Bangabandhu Gold Cup Trophy ceremonially unveiled Saturday
Bangabandhu Gold Cup Trophy ceremonially unveiled Saturday
Bangabandhu Gold Cup

Bangabandhu Gold Cup Trophy ceremonially unveiled Saturday

Dhaka – The glittering trophy of the six-nation 5th Bangabandhu Gold Cup International Football Tournament ceremonially unveiled at a local hotel on Saturday.Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed graced the trophy unveiling ceremony as chief guest at a grand function at the Pan Pacific Hotel Sonargaon Hotel in the capital.

State Minister for Civil Aviation and Tourism Shahjahan Kamal, BFF President Kazi M Salahuddin, BFF Sr Vice President Abdus Salam Murshedy MP and CEO K. Sports Fahad Karim were also present on the occasion.

Renowned singer and parliament member Momtaj Begum rendered the theme song of the tournament in presence of the captains of the six participating teams at the function.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is expected to be the chief in the final on October 12 at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka.

The 12-day of the heavy weight International Football Tournament of the country beginning on October 1 at the Sylhet District Stadium and later it will also held at two other venues-Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka and Bir Shrestha Ruhul Amin Stadium in Cox’s Bazar.

Hosts Bangladesh will play Laos in the opening match on October 1 in Sylhet at 6:30 pm.

Six teams-split into two groups– will initially compete in the first phase in Sylhet from Oct 1-6 al at 6:30 pm.

Later, top two teams from each of two groups will play in the semifinals in Cox’s Bazar on October 9 and 10 and the final match billed for Oct 12 at Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka.

Participating teams are:
Group A – holders Nepal, Palestine and Tajikistan
Group B – Laos, Philippines and hosts Bangladesh.

Fixture of Group matches:
Oct 1: Bangladesh vs Laos
Oct 2: Nepal vs Tajikistan
Oct 3: Laos vs Philippines
Oct 4: Tajikistan vs Palestine
Oct 5: Bangladesh vs Philippines
Oct 6: Palestine vs Nepal

Meanwhile, the residential training camp of the Bangladesh team began from last Thursday in the capital.

The much-talked about custodian Shahidul Alam Sohel, who was responsible for conceding the first goal against Nepal in the just concluded SAFF Suzuki Cup Football, was not considered in the preliminary squad.

Preliminary squad of Bangladesh team: Ashraful Islam Rana, Anisur Rahman, Rasel Mahmud, Mahfuzur Rahman Pritom (Goal Keeper), Bishwanath Ghosh, Tutul Hossain Badsha, Topu Barman, Waly Faisal, Sushanta Tripura, Rahmat Miah, Nasiruddin Chowdhury, Yeasin Khan, Ariful Islam (Defender), Mamunul Islam Mamun, Atiqur Rahman Fahad, Jamal Bhuiyan, Masuk Miah Zoni, Biplo Ahmed, Emon Mahmud (Mid-Fielder), Rabiul Hasan, Jafar Iqbal, Mohammad Saaduddin, Sohel Rana, Faisal Mahmood, Mohammad Ibrahim (Winger), Mahbubur Rahman Sufil, Shakawat Hossain Rony, Nabib Newaz Jibon, Towhidul Alam Sabuz, Motin Miah and Jabed Khan (Forward).UNB