Thursday , November 14 2019
Home / Sports / Cricket / Bangladesh, Sri-Lanka As’ 1st 4-dayer ends in draw
Bangladesh, Sri-Lanka As’ 1st 4-dayer ends in draw

Bangladesh, Sri-Lanka As’ 1st 4-dayer ends in draw

Dhaka – The first four-day match of a three-match series between Bangladesh A team and visiting Sri Lanka A team ended in a draw on day-4 at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium here on Friday.On the final day, Bangladesh resumed the 1st innings with overnight score of 360/4 in 112 overs and finished the innings on 414/10 in 135 overs.
Overnight centurion Sabbir Rahman played an inning of 165 off 287 balls, including 16 boundaries and two over boundaries, adding 21 runs more with his previous collection before being lbw by spinner Lakshan Sandakan on 394/6 in 23.5 overs.
Bangladesh lost their remaining four wickets-Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Hider, Nazmul Islam and Khaled Ahmed – to add 20 runs more off 11.1 overs in the innings.
Another overnight batsman Zakir Hasan [35 off 96b; 4×4], caught behind by Sadeera Samarawickrama, was sent off by Lakshan Sandakan on 386/5 in 120 overs.
Lakshan Sandakan (5/108) and Prabath Jayasuriya (3/83) shared eight wickets for Sri Lanka in the innings.
Having 449/8-d in the first innings, Sri Lanka opened the second innings on the final day and scored 262/2 in 57 overs with opener-cum-skipper Dimuth Karunaratne’s century of 161 runs and Lahiru Thirimanne’s unbeaten innings of 67* runs.
Dimuth Karunaratne played an innings of 165 balls to fire 23 boundaries and one over boundary and shared a partnership innings of 165 off 35.3 overs with Lahiru Thirimanne in the 2nd wicket before he was caught by Abu Hider off Nazmul Islam on 258/2 in 53.5 overs.
Player of the match Lahiru Thirimanne’s unbeaten innings saw an innings of 121 balls with five boundaries and one over boundary.
Skipper Karunaratne built up a solid opening stand pair contribution of 93 off 18.2 overs with Lahiru Milantha [30 off 52b; 3×4], who was bowled out by Mosaddek Hossain.
Nazmul Islam (1/37) and Mosaddek Hossain (1/39) were the wicket takers for Bangladesh.
The second four-day match will begin at Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium Academy Ground in Cox’s Bazar on July 3.
Brief score
Sri Lanka A 1st innings: 449/8-d in 131.1 overs; Lahiru Thirimanne168, Charith Asalanka 90, Shammu Ashan 70, Dimuth Karunaratne 60, Khaled Ahmed 4/92, Abu Hider 2/69.
Sri Lanka A 2nd innings: 262/2 in 57 overs; Dimuth Karunaratne 161, Lahiru Thirimanne 67*, Lahiru Milantha 30, Nazmul Islam 1/37, Mosaddek Hossain 1/39.
Bangladesh A 1st innings: 414/10 in 135 overs [overnight 360/4 in 112 overs]; Sabbir Rahman165, Mosaddek Hossain 135, Lakshan Sandakan 5/108, Prabath Jayasuriya 3/83.UNB