Bangladesh women's cricket team leaves for Ireland on Monday

Bangladesh women’s cricket team leaves for Ireland on Monday


Dhaka- Bangladesh National Women’s Cricket team left the capital for Ireland Monday morning by an Emirates flight to play a three-match T20 series against Irish women ahead of the next month’s Women’s World T20 Qualifier in Netherlands.Salma Khatun is leading the Bangladesh team while all-rounder Rumana Ahmed has been made her deputy.

Touring Bangladesh women’s will play three T20Is against the hosts Ireland on June 28, 29 and July 1 before flying to the Netherlands for the Women’s World T20 Qualifier.

The eight-nation Women’s World T20 qualifier, the matches of which will be treated as T20 internationals, will be held in Netherlands from July 7-14 where Bangladesh is grouped in Pool A with Papua New Guinea, Netherlands and UAE.

Pool B comprises of Ireland, Scotland, Thailand and Uganda.

The top two teams of the qualifying round will join Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and host West Indies in the final round of the Women’s World T20 scheduled for November 9-25 in the Caribbean islands.

Bangladesh women’s will face Scotland in their only warm-up game on July 5 before taking on PNG in their opening match on July 7.

In the remaining two group matches of the eight-nation qualifier, Bangladesh will face the Netherlands and the UAE on July 8 and 10 respectively.

Bangladesh came to the lime light by clinching their maiden multi-team women’s Asia Cup title in June defeating six-time champions India twice, including in the final.

Bangladesh squad: Salma Khatun (capt), Rumana Ahmed, Nigar Sultana, Fargana Hoque, Khadija Tul Kubra, Fahima Khatun, Ayasha Rahman, Shamima Sultana (wk), Nahida Akter, Panna Ghosh, Lily Rani Biswas, Sanjida Islam, Sharmin Sultana and Jahanara Alam.UNB


Comments are closed.