BCB announces 13-men squad for 1st two ODIs against Afghanistan | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

BCB announces 13-men squad for 1st two ODIs against Afghanistan


Dhaka – Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Thursday announced a 13-member squad for the first two DOIs of the three-match
series against Afghanistan starting in BCB announces 13-men squad for 1st two ODIs against Afghanistan  on Sunday.BCB selectors picked the uncapped Mosadek Hossain Saikot in the squad to play on September 25 and 28 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket
Stadium (SBNCS). All the matches of the day-night series scheduled to start from 2:30pm Bangladesh time.Mosaddek who played for Bangladesh only a one T20I earlier this year against Zimbabwe was included in the squad due to his strong domestic performances and considering him as a potential international player.“Mosaddek did very well in domestic cricket, including the longer-version tournaments, in the last two years. His performance in the Dhaka Premier League (DPL) was very good, so we feel that he is ready,” BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin said while announcing the names of the players at a press conference at SBNCS.BCB selection committee member Habibul Basahar Sumon also present at the occasion.In DPL 2016, Mosaddek showed consistent performance where he scored 622 runs in 14 matches at an average of 77.75 for champions Abahani
Limited.Meanwhile, Al-Amin Hossain was excluded with Shafiul Islam making a comeback in the squad.Shafiul last played an ODI in November 2014 while Al-Amin played only three ODIs since 2015. Al-Amin took 25 wickets in the DPL at an average of 23 while Shafiul took 11 wickets from 10 matches at 37.27.Pace bowler Rubel Hossain and left-arm spinner Taijul Islam returned to the side after missing the ODI series against Zimbabwe in November last. Pace sensation Mustafizur Rahman kept out of the squad due to
injury while Liton Das and Kamrul Islam Rabbi are the two other who missed the chance.Minhajul Abedin informed that they would include Taskin Ahmed in the squad, if ICC cleared his ban on international cricket for bowling action. Taskin underwent, along with Arafat Sunny, his bowling action reassessment test on September 8 in Brisbane.“We did not get Taskin’s test result yet from the ICC. It was supposed to be given today (Thursday). If, he gets clearance, he will be added to the squad,” the chief selector added. Bangladesh Squad: Masrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan,Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarker, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain Saikot, Mahmudullah Riyad, Nasir Hossain, Taijul Islam, Shafiul Islam and Rubel Hossain.


Comments are closed.