BCB XI to face Zimbabwe in one day warm-up Friday

BCB XI to face Zimbabwe in one day warm-up Friday


Dhaka – Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) XI will play visiting Zimbabwe in a one-day practice match at Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protishtan (BKSP) in Savar on Friday.The only warm-up match ahead of three-match day-night ODI series between host Bangladesh and Zimbabwe will start at 9:30 am.
Soumya Sarker, who is showing impressive form with bat and ball in the ongoing four-day National Cricket League (NCL) for holders Khulna Division and not in Bangladesh’s main squad for ODIs against Zimbabwean, will lead the BCB XI in practice match.

There is a fresh face in BCB XI as Mohor Sheikh, who has played just one first-class match in this season NCL for Rajshahi Division, was picked in the for warm-up one-day match.

The 21-year old fast bowler Mohor Sheikh is so much of an unknown that the BCB initially announced his name as “Morshedul Akhter” in the press release, but chief selector Minhajul Abedin later confirmed that it was a mistake, reports to ESPNcricinfo.

The BCB XI squad also contained three other young fast bowlers – Yeasin Arafat, Ebadat Chowdhury and Saifuddin – and just the one specialist spinner in Nayeem Hasan.

However, Zimbabweans are now on a tour to Bangladesh for three ODIs and two Tests against the host side. The first ODI is scheduled to be held at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) in Mirpur on October 21 before the series moved to the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS) in Chattogram for the next two matches on October 24 and 26.

The first Test will be held in Sylhet from November 3 to 7 followed by the second and final game from November 11 to 15 in Dhaka.

BCB XI for warm-up match: Soumya Sarkar (captain), Mizanur Rahman, Fazle Mahmud, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Zakir Hossain, Ariful Haque, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Yeasin Arafat, Ebadat Chowdhury, Mohor Sheikh and Nayeem Hasan.

Zimbabwe ODI squad: Hamilton Masakadza (captain), Solomon Mire, Craig Ervine, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Peter Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Donald Tiripano, Kyle Jarvis, Brandon Mavuta, Richard Ngarava, John Nyumbu, Wellington Masakadza, Tarisai Musakanda, Tendai Chatara and Cephas Zhuwao.UNB


Comments are closed.