BPL: Ctg Abahani maintains all-win record beating Sheikh Russel 3-1 | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

BPL: Ctg Abahani maintains all-win record beating Sheikh Russel 3-1


Dhaka – Last years runners-up Chittagong Abahani Ltd maintained all- win record to secure the top spot in the 10th Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) football beating Sheikh Russel Krira Chakra by 3-1 goals in the 4th match at the Bangabandhu National Stadium on Saturday.With the day’s outcome, Ctg Abahani collected full 12 points from four encounters while Sheikh Russel KC remained at their previous collection of four points from matches with one win, one draw and two losses in the 12-team league.Ctg Abahani took the lead in the 11th minute as their Nigerian forward Afeez Olawale Oladipo headed the ball home from goal mouth, connecting a corner off captain Zahid Hossain from left side (1-0).Ctg Abahani conceded a suicidal goal in the 52nd minute as their Nigerian defender Ndukaku Udoka Alison headed a back pass to goalie Ashraful Islam Rana, but the ball entered the net making fool the custodian (1-1).Ctg Abahani again took the lead in the game though in the 73rd minute, as a header of Oladipo found the opponent net. Oladipo headed the ball home from the box, off a nice right footed cross of defender Mansur Amin from right side (2-1)Striker Tawhidul Alam Sabuz extended the Abahani margin scoring one more goal in the 81st minute (3-1).Receiving a pass from midfield, Sabuz went past a Russel’s defense to carry the ball into the box, Russel goalie Ziaur Rahman came forward and dived to grab the crawling ball but failed. The rolling ball was stuck on muddy ground before Sabuz took the chance to convert it to goal by his right footed shot from goalmouth.UNB news agency


Comments are closed.