BPL: Muktijoddha take solo lead beating Sheikh Russel 2-0 | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

BPL: Muktijoddha take solo lead beating Sheikh Russel 2-0


Dhaka – Muktijoddha Sangsad KC took the solo lead in the JB Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football beating former champions
Sheikh Russell KC by 2-0 goals in the opening Dhaka-leg match at Bangabandhu National Stadium here on Thursday.This was Sheikh Russell’s 5th defeat in six matches while the other ended in draw.With the day’s feat, the freedom fighters’ team’ Muktijoddha’ topped
the points table securing 12 points from six matches while Sheikh Russel KC remained in the bottom in the 12-team league, bagging only one point from six league encounters,UNB News Agency Reported.Chittagong Abahani were following Muktijoddha with 11 points from five matches.Towhidul Alam Towhid and Javed Khan scored one goal each for Muktijoddha SKC, both in the first half.In the day’s match, Towhidul Alam Towhid put Muktijoddha SKC ahead in
the 10th minute by an odd goal when Sheikh Russell defender Mintu Sheikh sent the ball to his own net while trying to foil a Towhidul
Alam attempt (1-0).Forward Javed Khan confirmed Muktijoddha’s victory by adding one more goal in the 26th minute (2-0).Defender Monjurur Rahman Manik made a long pass to onrushing forward Javed Khan in the left flank, but Sheikh Russell defender Nahidul
Islam failed to tackle the situation and Javed fired the net by a right footer.In the 57th minute of the match, Muktijoddha’s Nigerian forward Ahmed Kolo Musa sneaked past the Russel defence carrying a through pass from midfielder Sohel Rana, but his attempt went outside kissing the crosspiece.In the following minute, another attempt of Muktijoddha’s Sohel Rana also narrowly missed the target. .
In the 84th minute, a header of Towhid Alam Towhid returned to play hitting the bar.Yellow cards: Fazle Rabbi, Arup Kumar Baidya (Sheikh Russel KC).Muktijoddha SKC – Mamun Khan (GK), Monjurur Rahaman Manik, Saidul Haque, Habibur Rahman Shohag, Sohel Rana, Towhidul Alam Towhid, Shah Alamgir Kabir Anik, Javed Khan, Mufta Lawal, Simon Ezeodika and Ahmed Kolo Musa.
Sheikh Russel KC-Ziaur Rahman (GK), Nasirul Islam Nasir, Rashedul Alam Moni, Jamal Bhuiyan, Mintu Sheikh, Mithun Chowdhury, Nahidul Islam, Monaem Khan Raju, Fazle Rabbi, Shakhawat Hossain Rony and Arup Kumar Baidya Card)


Comments are closed.