BPL schedule changed    | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

BPL schedule changed   


Dhaka – The Governing Council (GC) of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Twenty20 brought changes in the schedule of the 5th BPL opening ceremony and its start dates.The opening ceremony will be held on October 31 instead of November 1 while the eight-team tournament will begin on November 2 instead of November 4.Member Secretary of the BPL GC l Ismail Haider Mollick disclosed the decision at a press conference at ACME Bhaban in the capital on Monday.”The dates have been changed to avoid schedule clash T20 Global League of Cricket South Africa which is expected to start in November,” Mollick said.Mollick also informed that in the previous edition the iconic players were distributed through lottery system but this time they will enjoy freedom to choice their teams.Besides, BPL GC settled that each franchise can hire five foreign players. The number was limited in four for the previous edition.The press conference also announced Bangladesh cricket team cutter miracle Mustafizur Rahman as a new iconic player for the 5th BPL.Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman are the other iconic players who amazed in the seven-team 4th BPL.
However, with the return of the Sylhet franchise team, after missing out the last edition, a total of eight franchises team will take part in the 5th BPL.Dhaka, Chittagong, Rajshahi, Khulna, Rangpur, Comilla and Barisal are the seven other franchises team to play in the Twoenty20 league.UNB news agency


Comments are closed.