Club Cup Hockey: Abahani clinch title beating Mariner Youngs

Club Cup Hockey: Abahani clinch title beating Mariner Youngs


Dhaka- Defending champions Dhaka Abahani Limited clinched their 4th Club Cup title beating Premier League Hockey champions Dhaka Mariner Youngs Club by 1-0 goal in the final of the Khawja Rahmatullah Club Cup Hockey Tournament at floodlit Maulana Bhashani National Stadium here on Sunday.Sabuj scored the match-winner for Abahani Ltd in the 41st minute from a penalty corner (1-0).

With the feat, the sky-blue popular Dhanmondi outfit, Abahani Limited, touched the Dhaka Mohammedan’s record of winning club cup crown for the 4th time while Arambagh outfit Dhaka Mariner Youngs finished runners up for the 2nd time after losing final to Abahani in 2004.

BCB President Nazmul Hassan Papon witnessed the final as the chief guest and later he distributed prizes.

Krishna Kumar scored a goal from goalmouth melee in the 16th minute and umpire blew whistle for goal, but later the umpire cancelled it complying to a protest by Mariners players.

Earlier in the semifinals on Saturday, Abahani Limited smartly booked a seat for the final crushing Victoria SC by 11-1 goals while Dhaka Mariner Youngs Club managed a final berth beating Sonali Bank by 3-0 goals at the same venue.UNB


Comments are closed.