CT 17 2nd semifinal: Tigers score 264 against India | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

CT 17 2nd semifinal: Tigers score 264 against India


Dhaka – Bangladesh posted a target of 265 runs against giant India in the 2nd semifinal of the eight-nation ICC Champions Trophy against India at Edgbaston in Birmingham on Thursday.The first-ever semifinalists in this ICC event, Bangladesh scored 264 for 7 in 50 overs spurred with two half centuries of 70 and 61 runs hammered by opener Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim respectively.
Tigers skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza(30 off 25b; 5×4) roared in the end with Taskin Ahmed (11 off 14b; 1×4) to play an unbeaten partnership innings of 35 runs in 5 overs in the 8th stand which carried the team final score from 229/7 45 overs.To recover the Tigers early loss, Tamim shared a partnership figure of 123 in 21.1 overs with Mushfiqur in the 3rd stand which started from 31/2 in 6.5 overs.The worthy 3rd pair ended-up at 154/3 in 28 overs as Tamim was bowled out by Kedar Jadhav after playing an innings of 82 balls to fire seven boundaries and one over boundary for his 38th ODI half century.The Tigers innings broke-down quickly in the middle with Tamim’s departure as they lost three batsmen — Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur — within a span of 25 runs in 7.2 overs, from 154/3 in 28 overs to 179/5 in 35.2 overs, keeping the team in great jeopardy.Mushfiqur faced 85 balls to hit four boundaries on his way to the 26th ODI half century and was caught by Indian skipper Virat Kohli off spinner Kedar Jadhav. Mahmudullah Riyad (21 off 25b; 2×4), Sabbir Rahman (19 off 21b; 4×4), Shakib (15 off 23b; 1×4) and Mosaddek Hossain (15 off 26b; 3×4) were the other double digit scorers for the side.Bangladesh suffered top-order batting collapse losing Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman to collect 31 runs in 6.5 overs from where Tamim and Mushfiqur started their 3rd pair.Soumya departed in the last ball of the innings very 1st over when Bangladesh’s collection was only one.Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar departed both the Tigers wickets as Sabbir was caught by Ravindra Jadeja, while Soumya was bowled out with duck.Kedar Jadhav, Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar bagged two wickets each conceding 22, 40 and 53 runs in 6, 10 and 10 overs respectively. Ravindra Jadeja took one wicket for 48 runs in 10 overs.UNB news agency


Comments are closed.