Ctg all set for hosting Sk Kamal Int'l Club Cup Football

Ctg all set for hosting Sk Kamal Int’l Club Cup Football


Dhaka – The port city of Chittagong is ready to host the 2nd edition of the eight-team prestigious Sheikh Kamal International Club Cup Football Tournament beginning on Saturday at MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagong  here Football fans from all over the country await a thriller as the organisers have taken a unique approach to increase tournament’s outreach.Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal is expected to inaugurate the two-week long meet in the afternoon.FC Alga of Kyrgyzstan will face Pocheon Citizen FC of South Korea in the opening match at 4pm at the MA Aziz Stadium.Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) champions Dhaka Abahani Limited will play TC Sports Club of the Maldives in the other opening day’s fixture  at 7pm at the same venue.Defending champions and hosts Ctg Abahani and remaining two Bangladeshi club teams — Dhaka Abahani and Dhaka Mohammedans – are eager to prove their worth as the tournament forecast a 13-day football frenzy.At a press conference on Thursday, tournament committee members informed that they would use helicopters for promoting the competition starting from Friday and the promotion will continue till the end of the tournament.A total of eight teams, split into two groups, will initially participate in the tourney.Participating teams are: Group A — Dhaka Abahani Limited, FC Alga of Kyrgyzstan, Pocheon Citizen FC of South Korea and TC Sports Club of the Maldives.Group B – Chittagong Abahani Limited, Manang Marshyang Di Club of Nepal, Dhaka Mohammedan SC and Shaheen Asmayee FC of Afghanistan.Chittagong Abahani Limited is organising the heavyweight soccer tournament in the port city for the 2nd successive time in associate with FIFA, AFC and BFF that presented by Saif PowerTec and Event Management by Saif Global Sports Ltd (SGS).The champion team will receive US$ 30,000 as prize money while the runners-up team will get US$ 10,000. There are also awards for best player, best goal scorer and fair play category.All the participating teams– Shaheen Asmayee FC (Afghanistan), Manang Marshyangdi Club (Nepal), TC Sports Club (Maldives), Pocheon Citizen Football Club (South Korea), FC Alga Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan), Dhaka Abahani Limited, Dhaka Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited and hosts Chittagong Abahani Limited already in the port city for the meet.Of them, Dhaka Abahani, FC Alga, Pocheon Citizen FC, Shaneen Asmayee FC and TC Sports Club made their practices here on Thursday.UNB


Comments are closed.