DU registered graduate representatives' Senate polls ends

DU registered graduate representatives’ Senate polls ends


The election for choosing 25 registered graduates’ representatives to the Dhaka University senate ended at 5.30pm Saturday.
Unofficial results of the election will be published on Sunday after completion of the counting of ballots.

The election started at around 9:00am at the Nabab Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban, TSC and Physical Training Center on the campus.

Around 34,545 voters cast their votes in the election.

According to the university information, the voter cast their vote on serial no one to 12,798 at TSC voting center, 12,799 to 25,524 at  physical training center polling booth and 25,525 to 34,545 at Nabab Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban.

On September 14 and 21, the voting was held in 27 centers outside of Dhaka.

The DU senate is a 105-member statutory body which nominates a three-member panel from which the chancellor appointments the vice chancellor.

The 105-member body includes 25 representatives from the university’s registered graduates. – banglanews24.com

The 25 posts remain vacant for one year due to an absence of election, which was last held in 2009. The representatives’ three-year tenure expired in 2012.


Comments are closed.