EC to announce 9 municipal election schedule

EC to announce 9 municipal election schedule


The Election Commission (EC) is likely to announce the schedule this week for arranging election in nine municipalities in mid-March.The commission has decided to hold the polls in nine municipalities before the countrywide union parishad election scheduled to begin at the end of March, said an official at the EC Secretariat preferring anonymity.

The municipalities are Haragachh of Rangpur, Brahmanbaria, Jhalakati, Kabirhat of Noakhali, Nangalkot of Comilla, Bhanga of Faridpur, Chakaria and Maheshkhali of Cox’s Bazar, and Sonagazi of Feni.

On December 30 last, election to 234 municipalities out of the country’s 323 was held with the participation of 20 political parties.


Comments are closed.