Editors to meet standing committee on digital security act

Editors to meet standing committee on digital security act


Members of Editors’ Council, an association of newspapers editors, will be invited to a meeting with Parliamentary Standing Committee on Posts, Telecommunications and ICT on April 22 to place their proposals regarding amendments to the Digital Security Act.

“The concerns of the Editors’ Council are logical. Editors will be invited to a meeting with the parliamentary standing committee to discuss their proposals,” Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anisul Huq told newsmen after a meeting with the Editors’ Council at the secretariat here.

Editors’ Council general secretary and Daily Star editor Mahfuz Anam, Prothom Alo editor Matiur Rahman, Jugantor acting editor Saiful Alam, Financial Express editor Moazzem Hossain, New Age editor Nurul Kabir, Dhaka Tribune editor Zafar Sobhan, Kaler Kantho editor Imdadul Haque Milon, Bangladesh Pratidin editor Naem Nizam, Banik Barta editor Dewan Hanif Mahmud, Inqilab editor AMM Bahauddin, Nayadiganta editor Alamgir Mohiuddin, News Today editor Riazuddin Ahmed and Dainik Sangbad acting editor Khandker Muniruzzaman, among others, attended the meeting.

Editors’ Council expressed their concern over the Articles 8, 21, 25, 29, 32, 43 of the act during the meeting.Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology Minister Mustafa Jabbar, State minister for ICT Zunaid Ahmed Palak and Legislative and Parliamentary Affairs Division Senior Secretary Mohammad Shahidul Haque were present on the occasion.


Comments are closed.