FizzMumbai Indians take on Chennai SK in IPL opener

Fizz’s Mumbai Indians take on Chennai SK in IPL opener tonight


Dhaka – Bangladesh’s cuter master Mustafizur Rahman’s IPL franchise Mumbai Indians will take on Chennai Super Kings in the 11th edition opener at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on Saturday.
The opener of the eight-team Twenty20 league will begin at 8:30pm Bangladesh time.
These two sides — defending champions Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings — met each other in the final of the IPL 2015 and IPL 2013.

Sensational Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman first appeared in the 9th IPL at the age of his 20 and his side Sunrisers Hyderabad clinched the title for the first time in 2016.

Fizz played a vital role for his side, capturing 17 wickets in 16 matches at average 24.76 runs with the best bowling figure of 3/16 in his first appearance.

The left-handed pacer, Fizz was adjudged Emerging Player of the competition in 2016, finishing the tournament as the 5th highest wicket-taker with an economy rate 6.90, conceding 421 off 366 balls.

Sunrisers Hyderabad retained Fizz for the next stint in IPL 2017, when he could appear for only one match with wicket-less show off 16 balls conceding 34 runs. He missed the rest of the league due to injury as well as for national assignment overseas against Sri Lanka.

He scalped 17 wickets in 17 matches in the last two seasons, at average 26.76 runs, with best economy rate of 7.14. He conceded 455 runs off 382 balls in 17 matches.

Starting with base price INR 1 crore, Fizz was sold in IPL auction 2018 for $3.38m (INR 2.20 crore, BDT 2.82 crore approximately) while in IPL auction 2016 for $208,000 (INR 1.40 crore and BDT 1.62 crore approximately).

In his Twenty20 career, 22-year-old Fizz played so far 63 T20s to capture 78 wickets at average 21 runs.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma(captain), Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mustafizur Rahman, Pat Cummins, Suryakumar Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Evin Lewis, Saurabh Tiwary, Ben Cutting, Pradeep Sangwan, Jean-Paul Duminy, Tajinder Singh, Sharad Lumba, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Mayank Markande, Akila Dananjaya, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni(captain), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Faf du Plessis, Harbhajan Singh, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Kanishk Seth, Lungi Ngidi, Dhruv Shorey, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, Mark Wood, Kshitiz Sharma, Monu Kumar, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Imran Tahir, Karn Sharma, Shardul Thakur, N Jagadeesan.

IPL roll of honour

2008: Rajasthan Royals
2009: Deccan Chargers
2010: Chennai Super Kings
2011: Chennai Super Kings
2012: Kolkata Knight Riders
2013: Mumbai Indians
2014: Kolkata Knight Riders
2015: Mumbai Indians
2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017: Mumbai Indians.UNB


Comments are closed.