ICC WWCQ: Bangladesh lose 2 early wickets against India

ICC WWCQ: Bangladesh lose 2 early wickets against India


Dhaka, Feb 17 (UNB) – Bangladesh women’s cricket team lost two early wickets, after scoring 14 runs in 9.3 overs against India in the six-team Super League of the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers at Nondescripts Cricket Club (NCC), Colombo, Sri Lanka on Friday.Sent in to bat, the tigresses managed 25 runs for 2 in 18 over while the report was being filed.  Sharmin Akhter and Fargana Hoque were on batting, scoring  11 off 48 balls and 4  runs off 27 balls respectively.India Women won the toss and elected to field in the match, starting from 10:30am Bangladesh time.Bangladesh started the super league stage with a seven-wicket victory against Ireland while India with a comfortable 49-run win against South Africa at Colombo Cricket Club ground on Wednesday.In the 3rd and last super league match Bangladesh will face host Sri Lanka at NCC on Sunday. To storm the ICC Women’s World Cup, Bangladesh have to stay in the top four of the points table after the Super League battles to join with defending champion Australia, England, New Zealand and the West Indies who have qualified automatically after finishing in the top four of the ICC Women’s Championship.The ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 will start on June 26 and culminate with the final at Lord’s on July 23. Bristol and Derby will host the two semi-finals, while Leicester and Taunton are the other two venues.

Bangladesh team XI

Rumana Ahmed (captain), Sanjida Islam, Sharmin Sultana, Sharmin Akter, Fargana Hoque, Rumana Ahmed*, Nigar Sultana†, Salma Khatun, Shaila Sharmin, Khadija Tul Kubra, Jahanara Alam, Panna Ghosh.

India team XI 

Mithali Raj (Captain), Mona Meshram, Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Devika Vaidya, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma†, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav .UNB


Comments are closed.