Khaleda Zia Tarique reelected in their respective posts

Khaleda Zia Tarique reelected in their respective posts



BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia and her elder son and party’s senior vice chairman Tarique Rahman have been reelected in their respective posts unopposed.Barrister Jamiruddin Sircar, chairman of election commission, formed earlier to elect against the two posts, yesterday declared Khaleda Zia and Tarique Rahman elected as party chairperson and senior vice chairman unopposed as there was no contestant against them.

“Both the leaders have been declared elected in the topmost posts of the party since there was no contestant against them and none of them withdrew their nominations till yesterday, the last date for it,” he told reporters at BNP central office at Naya Paltan in the afternoon.

The party standing committee member further said there would be no election on March 19, the council day, against the two posts but the result will be confirmed by the councilors at the national council.

BNP chairperson’s adviser Abdul Mannan, Barrister Aminul Hauqe, Harun Al Rashid, Ruhul Kabir Rizvi and Md Shajahan, among others, were present on the occasion.
According to the constitution, the party chairperson is elected for three years on the basis of majority of votes by the councilors.

The election to two topmost posts of the party was scheduled to be held on March 19, the day fixed for party’s national council.

Earlier on March 2, representatives of both the leaders submitted their nominations at the temporary office of the returning officer at Naya Paltan. Standing committee member Nazrul Islam Khan acted as the returning officer.

Party standing committee at a meeting on February 10 decided that election will also be held in the post of senior vice chairman. Khaleda Zia, on the same day, has given the approval to bring amendment to the constitution to this regard.

Khaleda Zia has been elected chairperson of the BNP in 1984 and elected country’s prime minister thrice.

The BNP created the post of senior vice chairman during the last council in 2009 and Tarique Rahman was entrusted the responsibility of it.


Comments are closed.