Mufti Hannan, 5 others indicted in 2001 N'ganj bomb blast case

Mufti Hannan, 5 others indicted in 2001 N’ganj bomb blast case


A court here on Sunday framed charges against six people, including Harkat-ul-Jihad-al Islami (Huji) chief Mufti Abdul Hannan, in two cases filed in connection with the bomb attack on the Awami League office at Chashara on June 16, 2001 that killed 20 people and injured over 50.
Passing the order, Judge Malik Abdullah Al Amin fixed April 29 for starting the trial with the recording of evidence of the Prosecution Witnesses.The five the accused are militant leader Obaidullah Rahman, Narayanganj City Corporation Councillor Shawkat Hashem Shaku, Shahadatullah Jewel, and twin brothers Anisul Morsalin and Muhibul Mottakin. Of them, Mufti Abdul Hannan and Jewel were present in the dock during the charge-framing.
Of the other accused, Shaku is on bail while Obaidullah on the run and Morsalin and Mottakin are in Indian jail.
On May 2, 2013, Criminal Investigation Department (CID) of police pressed charges against the six people before the court of the chief judicial magistrate.
Police also cleared 31 people, including district BNP President Advocate Taimur Alam Khandaker, of the charges.
During investigation, Narayanganj CID ASP Ehsanuddin Chowdhury found involvement of eight people in the bomb attack. But charge-sheet was pressed against the six people excluding two others –- Jubo Dal activist Mominullah David and Kajal as David was killed in “crossfire” in 2004 and Kajal also died in the meantime.
Two cases — one for killing and the other under Explosive Substances Act -– were filed against 39 people, including then district BNP general secretary Taimur and its 26 activists, after the bomb attack on the Awami League office at Chashara on June 16, 2001. – UNB


Comments are closed.