National Cricket: Laxmipur beat Bandarban by 6 wkts | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

National Cricket: Laxmipur beat Bandarban by 6 wkts


Chittagong  – Laxmipur District earned a comprehensive six-wicket victory over Bandarban District in the Chittagong Divisional phase of the 36th National Cricket Championship at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium here on Thursday.Sent in to bat first, Bandarban scored a fighting a total of 222 for 6 in 50 overs with one down batsman Riadul Islam contributing the team highest 46 runs off 54 ball, including eight boundaries.Sujon Das (37), Shawkat Ali (36), Sumit Chowdhury (29), Mohammad Sunny (28) and Imran Choedhury (not out 18) were the other notable scorers for Bandarban.Tanjid Ahmed claimed three wickets for 29 runs while Robiul Alam Rana  took two for 58 runs.Chasing a target of 223 runs, Laxmipur easily reached their ultimate goal making the match-winner 223 runs for the loss of four wickets in 43.5 overs, featuring two good partnerships in the 4th and 5th wicket  stands.After the dismissal of top three batsmen for 25 runs in just three overs, number five batsman Mehedy Hasan paring with number four Ishtiaq Jubairs scored 96 runs in the 4th wicket stand and Mehedy Hasan again partnering with number six Tanjid Ahmed added another 102 runs in the 5th wicket stand to guide the team towards victory.Mehedy Hasan hammered the match highest unconquered 87 runs off 107 deliveries hitting seven fours, Tanjid Ahmed contributed an unbeaten 56 runs off 46 balls with seven fours and two sixes while Ishtiaq  Jubair made 99-ball 50 runs with seven fours.Rana Das grabbed three wickets for 45 runs while Robiul bagged one  wicket for 18 runs. (UNB)


Comments are closed.