Nat'l Cricket: Bandarban beat Cox's Bazar by 3 wkts

Nat’l Cricket: Bandarban beat Cox’s Bazar by 3 wkts


Chittagong  – Bandarban District tasted the first victory in their 2nd match of the Chittagong Divisional phase of the 36th National Cricket Championship beating Cox’s Bazar by three wickets at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium here on Monday.Earlier, Bandarban conceded an eight-wicket defeat against hosts Chittagong District in their first match at the same venue on Saturday.Sent in to bat first, Cox’s Bazar scored 196 for 9 in stipulated 50 overs with number seven batsman Kamrul Hasan contributing 55 runs off 80 balls, featuring six fours and one six.Besides, Mohammad Younus (37), Mohammad Shahjahan (17), Junaiduzzaman (16), Arman Khan (14) and Mohammad Tareq (11) were the other main scorers for Cox’s Bazar reaching the double figure.Riadul Islam, Al Amin, Sumith Chowdhury and Imran Chowdhury took two wickets each conceding 13, 26, 26 and 34 runs respectively.Chasing a moderate target, Banbardan lost seven wickets cheaply for 81 runs in 21.2 overs, but Mohammad Rubel pairing with Sujon Kanti Das, in the 9th wicket stand contributed an unbeaten 116 runs and guided the team to score match-winner 197 runs for 7 in 48 overs..Two down Mohammad Rubel hammered an unconquered 72 runs off 105 balls, hitting four boundaries while number nine batsman Sujon Kanti Das made an unbeaten 57 runs off 102 balls, featuring six fours.One down Mohammad Sunny (20) and opener Mehedy Hasan (11) were other notable scorers for Bandarban scoring the double digit run.Junaiduzzaman grabbed three wickets for 48 runs while Kamal Hossain claimed two wickets for 23 runs. (UNB)


Comments are closed.