NCL Tier 2: Dhaka Metro lead by 226 runs vs Ctg Div | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

NCL Tier 2: Dhaka Metro lead by 226 runs vs Ctg Div


Dhaka – Dhaka Metro took a 226-run lead against Chittagong Division after the 2nd day’s play of the four-day match Walton 19th National Cricket League (NCL) at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Saturday.Having 1st innings collection of 344 runs, Dhaka Metro opened the 2nd innings on the 2nd day — after squeezing Ctg Division at 130/10 in 50.5 overs in the 1st innings — and scored 12/2 in 3 overs, at stumps, in the 2nd innings.Asif Ahmed (7) and Jabid Hossain (1) of Dhaka Metro were at the crease when the bails were drawn for the 2nd day’s play.Shakhawat Hossain and Mehedi Hasan Rana took one wicket each for 4 and 6 runs for Chittagong Division.Earlier, Dhaka Metro resumed the 1st innings on the 2nd day with overnight score of 257/5 in 90 overs, spurred by the Tigers former captain Mohammad Ashraful’s century of 104 on the first day.Overnight batsman Mehrab Hossain Jr finished his inning with a half century of 66 off 221 balls, including six boundaries and one six on the day. Another overnight batsman Sharif Ullah scored 38 off 71 balls, including three boundaries and one six, while Jabid Hossain (27 off 58b; 4×4) and Nihad Uz Zaman (21 off 35b; 3×4; 1×6) were the other double-digit scorers for the side in the first innings.Nayeem Hasan bagged four wickets 84 runs while Mehedi Hasan Rana, Md Belal and Shakhawat Hossain took two wickets each for Ctg Division in the innings.Chittagong Division opened the 1st innings and suffered batting disasters as Nihad Uz Zaman captured five wickets for economic 45 runs in 15.5 overs to restrict his opponent 130 runs. Sharif Ullah and Ali Ahmed did the remaining job bagging two and one wicket for 37 and 20 runs respectively.Opener Pinak Ghosh (28), Iftekhar Sajjad Rony (23), Mehedi Hasan Rana (16), Nayeem Hasan (15) and Mahabubul Karim (13) were the double-digit scorers for the Ctg side.In another Tier 2 match of the league at Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi, Sylhet Division lead by 139 runs against Rajshahi Division after the 2nd day’s play.Having 128 runs in the 1st innings, Sylhet opened the 2nd innings and scored 90/5 in 50 overs at stumps after day two as they destroy Rajshahi the side opened and finished the first innings on the day at 79/10 in 27.4 overs.Sayem Alam was superb with bagging six-for 32 runs in 9.4 overs in the 1st innings for Sylhet while Abul Hasan captured three for 24 runs in 9 overs.Shahanur Rahman (26) and Anwar Akbar (3) were at stumps in the 2nd innings for Sylhet when the bails were drawn for the 2nd day’s play.
Earlier, Sylhet resumed the first innings with overnight score of 123/9 in 66.1 overs and finished at 128/10 in 68.3 overs.
Brief Score:
Dhaka Met vs Ctg Div
Dhaka Metro 1st innings: 344/10 in 118.5 overs (overnight 257/5 in 90 overs); Mohammad Ashraful 104, Mehrab Hossain Jr 66, Nayeem Hasan 4/ 84, Mehedi Hasan Rana 2/59, Md Belal 2/68, Shakhawat Hossain 2/95.Dhaka Metro 2nd innings: 12/2 in 3 overs, at stumps; Asif Ahmed 7*, Jabid Hossain 1*, Shakhawat Hossain 1/4, Mehedi Hasan Rana 1/6.
Chittagong Div 1st innings: 130/10 in 50.5 overs; Pinak Ghosh 28, Iftekhar Sajjad Rony 23, Mehedi Hasan Rana 16, Nihad Uz Zaman 5/45, Sharif Ullah 2/37, Ali Ahmed 2/20.
Sylhet Div VS Rajshahi Div
Sylhet Division 1st innings: 128/10 in 68.3 overs(overnight 123/9 in 66.1 overs); Imtiaz Hossain 38, Shahanur Rahman 17, Saqlain Sajib 3/26, Forhad Reza 3/33.Sylhet Division 2nd innings: 90/5 in 50 overs, at stumps; Rajin Saleh 39, Shahanur Rahman 26*, Anwar Akbar 3*, Forhad Reza 2/11, Saqlain Sajib 1/17.
Rajshahi Division 1st innings: 79/10 in 27.4 overs; Zunaid Siddique 22, Jahurul Islam 19, Sayem Alam 6/ 32, Abul Hasan 3/24.


Comments are closed.