ODI Cricket: Bangladesh to face Afghanistan Sunday

ODI Cricket: Bangladesh to face Afghanistan Sunday


Dhaka  – Bangladesh will resume their one-day-international cricket after around a ten-month gap taking on visiting Afghanistan in the 1st match of the three-match series at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) on Sunday.The day-night match of the ROCKET Bangladesh vs Afghanistan ODI Series will start at 2:30pm (Bangladesh time). Satellite channel Gazi TV will telecast the match live.Inspirational Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza showed his confidence ahead of the mission saying, “Obviously we will play
all-out cricket.”Mashrafe was speaking at the pre-series press conference at SBNCS media block on Saturday. The Tigers’ head coach Chandika Hathurusingha also spoke on the occasion.“We want to play our best cricket, and our best cricket is not defensive cricket. We want to start playing the way we left off,” the captain said replying to a query.However, Bangladesh played ODI last in November 2015 in a three-match series against Zimbabwe at home where the hosts white washed the visitors by 3-0 margin. Besides, in 2015 Bangladesh sealed series victories over India, Pakistan and South Africa. The tigers also reached the quarterfinals stage for the first time in the ICC ODI World Cup 2015 Australia.“Afghanistan is a strong team and they upset many good teams in the world stage. We take them very seriously and have taken preparations for them as we take for any other team,” Hathurusingha said.In their previous two ODI meetings, Bangladesh defeated Afghanistan by 105 runs in the World Cup 2015, but lost by 32 runs in the first instance in Asia Cup in 2014.The remaining two matches of the first-ever bilateral series between Bangladesh and ICC associate nation Afghanistan will be held at the same venue on September 28 and October 1.Arriving in Dhaka on Tuesday last (September 21), Afghanistan started their tour campaign with a one-day warm-up match where they defeated BCB XI by 66 runs at Khan Saheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah on Friday.

Bangladesh Squad: Masrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan,Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarker, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain Saikot, Mahmudullah Riyad, Nasir Hossain, Taijul Islam, Shafiul Islam, Taskin Ahmed and Rubel Hossain.
Afghanistan squad: Asghar Stanikzai (captain), Mohammad Shahzad, Rahmat Shah, Mirwais Ashraf, Dawlat Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shenwari, Rashid Khan, Hashmatullah Shaidi, Fareed Ahmad, Amir Hamza, Najibullah Zadran, Nawroz Mangal, Naveen-ul-Haq, Karim Janat, Shabir Noori and Ihsanullah.


Comments are closed.