Painful umpiring mistakes hurt millions of cricket fans

Painful umpiring mistakes hurt millions of cricket fans

0

Dubious umpiring decisions against Bangladesh during the second quarterfinal of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 at MCG on Thursday apparently snatched away Bangladesh’s grip on the match, raising questions about the decisions that went against Tigers.
The negative hype over those decisions favouring India created huge debate in the social media platforms as well as some mainstream media as the match was witnessed by millions across the world.
Ian Gould declared no-ball against pacer Rubel Hossain for a waist-high full toss in the 40th overs which was a turning point.South African captain AB de Villiers uploaded that picture, at 4pm, on his facebook wall written with “3rd Umpire strikes.”
Former Indian cricketer VVS Laxman tweeted, at 11:49am on his wall,“ Bad decision from Gould, was definitely not above the waist. Lucky break for rohit. this can b the difference in getting xtra 20 runs.
“VVS Laxman @VVSLaxman281:Follow-(Bad decision from Gould,was definitely not above the waist.Lucky break for rohit.this can b the difference in getting xtra 20 runs #CWC2015, 12:49 PM – 19 Mar 2015
Rohit Sharma became the beneficiary of this doubtful decision as he was caught in the deep and was reprieved moments later by the umpire’s call.
Replays showed the call was marginal, and the ball was dipping sharply when the batsman made contact.
Earlier in the 34th over, Mashrafe’s LBW shout was turned out by Ian Gould when replays showed majority of the ball had pitched in line with the stumps.
Mashrafe was quick to call for a review but the third umpire ruled in favor of the batsman, Suresh Raina.
Mahmudullah was also departed by a third umpire’s controversial decision was caught by Shikhar Dhawan off Mohammed Shami in 17th overs.
Dhawan first slept up the ball from very edged to boundary then jumped and slept up again to cross boundary, there was a possibility to touch the boundary line, finally caught the ball coming inside-boundary back.
Third umpire declared Mahmudullah out without more clarifications through closed-shot footage. – UNB

Share.
Loading...

Comments are closed.