PM pays tribute to Bangabandhu at Tungipara | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

PM pays tribute to Bangabandhu at Tungipara


Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Saturday placed a wreath at the mazar of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman at Tungi[ara, marking the the National Mourning Day, 40th martyrdom anniversary of the great leader.
After placing the wreath, the Prime Minister stood there in solemn silence for some time as a mark of respect to the memories of the architect of the independence.
A smartly turned out contingent drawn from the three services gave a guard of honour, while bugle played the last post.A special prayer was offered seeking the eternal peace of departed souls of Bangabandhu, Begum Fazilatunnesa Mujib and other martyrs of August 15, 1975 massacre.
Prayers were also offered seeking the country’s continued peace, progress and prosperity.
The Prime Minister, cabinet members, party leaders and workers joined a milad and doa mahfil on the mazar premises, arranged by the Cabinet Division and Gopalganj district administration, marking the National Mourning Day.
Flanked by senior Awami League leaders, Sheikh Hasina also the President of the party, placed another wreath at the grave of Bangabandhu.
Speaker of the Jatiya Sangsad Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury also placed a wreath at Bangabandhu’s mazar.
Central Awami League leaders laid a wreath at the mazar of Bangabandhu on behalf of the party. Later, leaders of different associate bodies of Awami League placed wreaths at the mazar.
Industries Minister Amir Hossain Amu, Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed, Awami League Presidium Member Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Agriculture Minister Matia Chowdhury, Minister for Public Administration Syed Asraful Islam, LGRD and Cooperatives Minister Engineer Khandakar Mosharraf Hossain, Public Works and Housing Minister Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Shipping Minister Shajahan Khan, Environment and Forest Minister Anwar Hossain Manju, Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Moazzemel Haq, Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan, State Minister Mirza Azam and Tarana Halim, PM’s Security Adviser Major General (retd) Tarique Ahmed Siddique, Chief Whip of the Jatiya Sangsad ASM Feroze also joined programme.
Parliament Members, Cabinet Secretary M Musharraf Hossain Bhuiyan, PM’s Principal Secretary Abul Kalam Azad and Press Secretary Ihsanul Karim were also present.- News Desk


Comments are closed.