Legends of Rupganj move to 2nd slot beating Gazi Group

Premier Cricket: Legends of Rupganj move to 2nd slot beating Gazi Group


Dhaka- Legends of Rupganj advanced to the 2nd slot in the 12-team Walton Bangladesh Premier League Cricket beating Gazi Group Cricketers by five wickets at BKSP ground-3 in Savar on Monday.In the day’s other match, Prime Doleshwar SC earned a 56-run victory over Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah.After the day’s 6th round matches, both the Legends of Rupganj and Prime Doleshwar SC have secured eight points each, but in net run rate, Legends of Rupganj (0.433) advanced to the 2nd slot forcing Prime Doleshwar (0.147) to the 3rd place.League leader Abahani Limited maintained their all-win record in the league securing full 12 points from straight six matches with a net run rate of 1.588.Sent into bat first in Fatullah, Prime Doleshwar SC scored a challenging total of 293 runs for the loss of six wickets in allocated 50 overs, featuring 82 runs in the 2nd wicket stand by centurion Fazle Mahmud and Liton Das.One down Fazle Mahmud contributed an unconquered 120 runs off just 101 balls hitting five fours and six sixes and was adjudged man of the match.
Opener Liton Das scored 89-ball 69 runs featuring three fours and four sixes, number five Zohaib Khan made run-a-ball 38 including one boundary and two over boundaries, another opener Imtiaz Hossain made 44-ball 33 runs with four fours and Mohammad Arafat scored 13-ball 14 runs with one six. Rabiul Hossain bagged two wickets for 36 runs while Saikat Ali, Nazmul Islam and Abu Jayed took one wicket a piece.Chasing a moderate target, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club were dismissed for 237 runs, despite 99 runs in the 7th wicket stand by Nurul Hasan and Elias Sunny.Number six batsman Nurul Hasan quick-fired just 100 runs off 88 balls with seven hits to fence and one over the fence, Hasanuzzaman contributed 20-ball 36 runs hitting five fours and two sixes, Elias Sunny made a patient 55-ball 31 runs with a four while Ziaur Rahman scored 17 runs off 36 balls with a four.Farhad Reza picked-up four wickets for 56 runs, Arafat Sunny grabbed two for 51 while Dewan Sabbir, Mohammad Arafat and Sharifullah claimed one wicket each.At BKSP ground-3, sent into bat first, Gazi Group Cricketers were bundled out for 190 runs in 32.4 overs despite of 64 runs in the 5th wicket stand by Nadif Choedhury and Zakir Ali Anik.Number four Nadif Chowdhury scored 61-ball 75 runs with two hits across the rope and five over the rope, number five Zakir Ali made 37 runs playing 41 balls, featuring three fours and one six, national coloured opener Imrul Kayes made 22 runs off 32 balls, with two fours and one six while Indian Manoj Tiwary also made 22 runs off 36 balls, including a boundary.Former national right arm medium fast bowler Mohammad Sharif made the major damage in Gazi Group innings grabbing six wickets for 33 runs to be adjudged man of the match.Mohammad Shahid claimed three wickets for 32 runs while Indian Parvez Rasool took one for 42.In reply, Legends of Rupganj easily reached their target scoring the match-winner 191 runs for the loss of five wickets with Indian Parvez Rasool contributing an unbeaten 61 runs off 57 balls with five fours and two sixes.Besides, Naeem Islam (39), Tushar Imran (38), Abdul Majid (23) and Mushfiqur Rahim (22) were the other notable scorers reaching the double figure.
Naeem Hasan picked up three wickets for 38 runs while Mehedi Hasan and Abu Hider took one wicket each.UNB news agency


Comments are closed.