S. Africa bat first against Afghanistan in World T20

S. Africa bat first against Afghanistan in World T20


MUMBAI – South Africa won the toss and opted to bat first against Afghanistan in their World Twenty20 match at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Sunday.The Proteas made one change to the side that lost to England on Friday as they aim to get their bid for a first international trophy back on track.Seamer David Wiese replaced fast-bowler Dale Steyn for the Super 10 Group One clash.Afghanistan, the only non-Test side left in the competition, made three changes to the team that lost by six wickets to Sri Lanka.

Shapoor Zadran, Amir Hamza and Mohammad Nabi replaced Shafiqullah, Karim Sadiq and Hamid Hassan.Quinton de Kock and Hashim Amla were due to open the batting for South Africa.South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, Imran Tahir, Chris Morris, David Miller, Kagiso Rabada, David Wiese Afghanistan: Mohammad Shahzad, Noor Ali Zadran, Asghar Stanikzai (captain), Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shenwari, Najibullah Zadran, Rashid Khan, Amir Hamza, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZL) and Paul Reiffel (AUS) ,TV umpire: Sundaram Ravi (IND) Reserve umpire: Rod Tucker (AUS) Match referee: David Boon (AUS). (BSS/AFP)


Comments are closed.