Six journos get Progga's anti-tobacco awards

Six journos get Progga’s anti-tobacco awards


Dhaka– Anti-tobacco campaigning organisation Progga on Saturday awarded six journalists from print, electronic and online media with ‘Tobacco Control Journalism Award 2017’ for their anti-tobacco reports published in the last one year.The awardees are – Golam Murtaza Jewel of Daily Kirtonkhola, SAM Hamid-Uz-Zaman Mamun of Jugantor, Md Shafiqul Islam of Bangla Tribune, Parimal Palma of the Daily Star, Sushanta Sinha of Jamuna,Television and minor journalist Sadik Evan of ‘Hello’ of awards were handed out to the journalists at an event held in the city’s Cirdap auditorium on Saturday.Progga (knowledge for Progress) and Anti Tobacco Media Alliance (ATMA) jointly arranged a discussion meeting and award-giving ceremony marking the World No Tobacco Day 2017.Addressing the discussion, Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Anisul Huq said the government is committed to regulating tobacco as there are no alternative of tobacco control to reach the sustainable development goals (SDGs). Noting that the passage of a surcharge management policy and a national tobacco control policy is a timely demand, he said, “I’ll extend my whole hearted efforts to pass theses, when the policies are tabled on the cabinet.”The Law Minister said the government is taking initiatives to make the country tobacco-free by 2040.Dhaka University Vice Chancellor Prof Dr AAMS Arefin Siddique also spoke at the function chaired by Deputy Editor of the Daily Samakal Muzzammil Husain.Lead Consultant (Bangladesh Program) of Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids (CTFK) Dr. Mohammad Shariful Alam and Progga Executive Director ABM Zubair, among others, were present at the event, said a press release.This year the World No Tobacco Day (May 31) 2017 will be held with the theme ‘Tobacco- a threat for development’ across the world.UNB news agency


Comments are closed.