Tigers fly for India Tuesday to play Afghanistan in Dehradun

Tigers fly for India Tuesday to play Afghanistan in Dehradun


Dhaka – Bangladesh National Cricket team will leave here Tuesday morning for New Delhi en-route to Dehradun on to play their first-ever three-match bilateral T20I series against Test babes Afghanistan beginning on June 3 at Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Dehradun.Captain of Bangladesh T20 team and world famed all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who arrived in Dhaka from Mumbai on Monday noon after playing the IPL final for Sunrisers Hyderabad against Chennai Super Kings, will not accompany the team on Tuesday. He is expected to leave here for India on Thursday.

Tigers’ most reliable opening batsman Tamim Iqbal will not also accompany the team on Tuesday for his preoccupation to play for the World Eleven against the West Indies in a fund-raising T20 exhibition match at Lords on Thursday (May 31). He will directly join the team in India from London.

Earlier, the BCB named their West Indian pace bowling coach Courtney Walsh as the Head Coach of Bangladesh team in the three-match Twenty20I series.

He also performed the same job successfully, especially in T20 Cricket, during the Tri-nation Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka in March last. Tigers have been without a permanent head coach since resignation of Sri Lankan coach Chandika Hathurusingha in October last year.

The Tigers, ranked 10th in T20I, will play their superior 8th ranked Afghanistan eyeing series victory playing their best cricket.

Bangladesh will play their remaining two T20 matches against Afghanistan on June 5 and 7 (starting at 8:30 pm BST) at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, a new venue for Bangladesh.

Besides, Bangladesh team will play a practice match there on June 1 ahead of the T20 series.

In a pre-match press conference at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Sunday, Bangladesh Vice-Captain Mahmudullah Riyad said, “The upcoming T20 series against Afghanistan will be a challenging one for us. It won’t be an easy series. We have to play our best to win the series.”

Bangladesh T20 Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Mahmudullah (Vice-Captain) Tamim Iqbal Khan, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Kumar Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Ariful Haque, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider Rony, Rubel Hossain and Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi.UNB


Comments are closed.