Tigers to play Nidahas Trophy

Tigers to play Nidahas Trophy marking Lankans 70th independence


Dhaka – Bangladesh will play in the Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka to mark the island nation’s 70th year of independence. Sri Lanka freed from British rule on February 4 in 1948.The 13-day Twenty20 tri-nation series will begin with hosts Sri Lanka taking on another participant India at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on March 6.The series will follow a round-robin format where all team to play each other twice, and the top two sides will move to the final, which will be held at the same venue on March 18, said Sri Lanka Cricket media release on Friday.The Lankans are now engaged in a tri-nation ODI series in Bangladesh. Apart from the host, Zimbabwe is another side of the series, which will end on January 27.
Sri Lanka will depart from Bangladesh, playing two Tests and two T20Is in three cities — Chittagong, Dhaka and Sylhet — venues, completing their tour here on February 19.On the other hand, Indians are touring South Africa for a lengthy series featuring three Tests, six ODIs and three T20s, all of which will end by February 24.Nidahas Trophy Fixture: Sri Lanka vs India (March 6); Bangladesh vs India (March 8); Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh (March 10); India vs Sri Lanka (March 12); India vs Bangladesh (March 14); Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (March 16) and Final on March 18.UNB news agency


Comments are closed.