Tigresses to start T20I series against Pakistan

Tigresses to start T20I series against Pakistan in Cox’s Bazar Tuesday


Dhaka- Hosts Bangladesh will start the four-match Women’s T20 series against Pakistan on Tuesday at the Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium in Cox’s Bazar.The match will kick off at 9 am Bangladesh time.Pakistan team, led by Javeria Wadood, arrived in Dhaka on Sunday and reached Cox’s Bazar on Monday morning to play the T20I series and one-off ODI match against the home team, all at the same venue.

The remaining three T20I matches between the two teams will be held on October 3, 5 and 6 while the lone ODI match is scheduled for October 8.

Earlier on Saturday, Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced an 18-member final squad of Bangladesh Women’s Cricket team for both the T20I series and ODI match including all-rounder Lala Mondal in one of the five changes in their squad.

Salma Khatun was made captain of Bangladesh T20I team while Rumana Ahmed skipper of Bangladesh ODI team.

Fast bowler Lily Rani Biswas was dropped from the team that played in the Women’s World T20 Qualifiers in Ireland in July. The other inclusions are Ritu Moni, batsman Sharmin Akhter, 19-year-old pacer Suraya Azmin and 18-year-old batsman Murshida Khatun.

Lata, Suraya and Murshida were in standby for the World T20 Qualifiers.The changes were made keeping in mind the bigger picture – the Women’s World T20 in November – for which Bangladesh are playing this four-match T20I series against Pakistan. These players will get a chance to stake their claim in that squad.

Lata, who played 52 international matches, last played for Bangladesh in January 2017 when she made only four runs in three ODIs against South Africa. But she impressed with her fitness and training in the last few months, as did fast-bowling all-rounder Ritu Moni. Sharmin was considered as a batting option, while Suraya and Murshida are promising young cricketers.

Bangladesh Squad: Rumana Ahmed (ODI Captain), Salma Khatun (T20 Captain), Nigar Sultana, Fargana Haque, Khadija Tul Kubra, Fahima Khatun, Ayesha Rahman, Shamima Sultana, Jahanara Alam, Nahida Akter, Panna Ghosh, Ritu Moni, Sanjida Islam, Sharmin Sultana, Suraya Ajmin, Sharmin Akter Supta, Lata Mondol and Murshida Khatun,

Pakistan Squad: Javeria Wadood (Captain), Bibi Nahida, Ayesha Zafar, Muneeba Ali Siddiqui, Sidra Amin, Omaima Sohail, Nida Rashid, Sidra Nawaz, Sana Mir, Nashra Sundhu, Anum Amin, Natalia Parvaiz, Aliya Riaz, Diana Baig and Aiman Anwar.UNB


Comments are closed.