UN to elect 5 new Security Council members

UN to elect 5 new Security Council members


The U.N. General Assembly elects five new members to the Security Council on Thursday and the winners are virtually certain because

there are no contested races — Nigeria, Chad, Saudi Arabia, Lithuania and Chile.

Chad, Saudi Arabia and Lithuania have never served on the U.N.’s most powerful body while Nigeria and Chile have both been on the council
four times previously.

Security Council seats are highly coveted because they give countries a strong voice in matters dealing with international peace and
security, such as Syria, sanctions against Iran and North Korea and the U.N.’s far-flung peacekeeping operations.

The 15-member council includes five permanent members with veto power — the U.S., Russia, China, Britain and France — and 10 nonpermanent
members elected for two-year terms.

Seats are allocated by region, and regional groups nominate candidates. There are often hotly contested races. In 2007, for
example, a runoff between Guatemala and Venezuela went 47 rounds before Panama was finally offered, and elected, as the Latin America

This year, there were initially two candidates for a West African seat but Gambia dropped out last week in favor of Nigeria.

To win, each country must obtain support of two-thirds of all General Assembly members present, or a minimum of 129 votes if all 193 members

Because balloting is secret, there is intense lobbying for votes by candidates, even in uncontested races, to ensure they get the minimum
number needed for victory.

Winners will assume their posts on Jan. 1 and serve through the end of 2015.

The five winners on Thursday will replace Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan and Togo.


Comments are closed.