'Victory Day for Democracy' celebrated in Ctg

‘Victory Day for Democracy’ celebrated in Ctg


The ruling Awami League (AL) and its front organizations today celebrated ‘Victory Day for Democracy’ through various programmes.Hundreds of leaders and activists of AL and its front organizations gathered at city’s Shahid Minar premises marking the second anniversary of January-5 general election(Victory Day for Democracy) held in 2014.City AL President and former Mayor A B M Mohiuddin Chowdhury led a huge rally and presided over the discussion meeting while Chittagong city Mayor A J M Nasir Uddin, AL leaders Mahtab Uddin Chowdhury, Noyeem Uddin Chowdhury and Advocate Iftakher Saimul among others addressed the function.Speakers at the discussion meeting called upon BNP to come to the path of democracy, participate in the next general elections, and discard all political ties with Jamaat-e-Islami.About two kilometers away from Shahid Minar, BNP held a rally at Kazir Dewri marking the day in a contrasting view. The 10th parliamentary elections were held on January 5, 2014 with the BNP-led 18-party alliance boycotting it.Meanwhile, Six platoons of paramilitary troops BGB have been deployed in Chittagong city, Sitakunda and Bashkhali, said Maj Sabbir Ahmed, Additional Director of the paramilitary forces in Chittagong. (BSS)


Comments are closed.