Warrent against 21 BNP leaders on Special Power Act

Warrent against 21 BNP leaders on Special Power Act


A court here on Monday issued warrants for the arrest of 21 BNP leaders, including BNP joint secretary general Barkatullah Bulu, in a case filed under the Special Power Act with Airport Police Station on February 2, last.Dhaka Metropolitan Session Judge Md Quamrul Hossain Mollah passed the order after taking the case into cognigance.

The court also asked the officer-in-charge of the concerned police station to submit a report on the execution of the arrest warrants on February 10 next.

BNP chief’s special assistant Shamsur Rahman Shimul Biswas, her Press Secretary Maruf Kamal Khan Sohel, city unit BNP member secretary Habibun Nabi Khan Sohel, BNP central leader Azizul Bari Helal, Sultan Salahuddin Tuku, Saiful Islam Nirob and Alhaz Salahuddin Ahmed were among the accused.

On February 2, miscreants set a bus of ‘Abhijat Transport Ltd’ afire on Dhaka-Mymensingh highway in Kasaibari intersection under Airport thana.

Later, Nazrul Islam Khan, sub-inspector of Airport Police Station filed a case against 33 identified people and 25 unidentified people.

Jahirul Islam, investigation officer of the case, submitted chargesheet against 33 BNP leaders and activists in the case on July 12.

Of the 33 accused, 11 accused, including BNP leader Amanullah Aman, secured their bail from the court while 21 others remained fugitive.


Comments are closed.