Winners of 2016 Arthur C. Stern Award Announced

Winners of 2016 Arthur C. Stern Award Announced


Taylor & Francis and the Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association (JA&WMA) have announced Drs. Judith C. Chow, John G. Watson, L.-W. Antony Chen, M.C. Oliver Chang, Norman F. Robinson (Posthumously), Dana Trimble, and Steven Kohl of Desert Research Institute, Reno, NV, as the recipients of the 2016 Arthur C. Stern Distinguished Paper Award. Their prize-winning paper, which was published in 2007, on the IMPROVE_A protocol for thermal/optical carbon analysis, addresses the question of how to successfully introduce new measurement technology into long-term network operations.

JA&WMA Technical Editor-in-Chief Dr. S.T. Rao, goes on to state: “This research work is highly original and carefully executed and is significant in understanding how one can maintain the continuity of certain IMPROVE databases given the upgrade of the Thermal/Optical Reflectance (TOR) instruments.”
The winning paper, entitled “The IMPROVE_A Temperature Protocol for Thermal/Optical Carbon Analysis: Maintaining Consistency with a Long-Term Database,” reports the results of systematic testing that identified and corrected limitations of previous analysis hardware, including uncertain sample temperature quantification, infiltration of oxygen into the inert gas stream, and undue dominance of adsorbed organics with the filter on the transmittance pyrolysis correction, while still maintaining consistency with the long-term U.S. chemical speciation databases.
This open access paper is available by following the Url:
The Arthur C. Stern Distinguished Paper Award is awarded annually to an author(s) for their outstanding contribution to JA&WMA in the fields of air and waste management. Learn more and submit nominations for the 2017 award at
(Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA) assists in the professional development and critical environmental decision-making of our members to benefit society. Learn more at: )


Comments are closed.