World Twenty20 past champions

World Twenty20 past champions


The five past winners of the World Twenty20, which starts with the preliminary phase on Tuesday:2014 – SRI LANKA Sri Lanka defeated India by six wickets to lift the 2014 title in Mirpur, Bangladesh, to atone for their defeat in the previous two finals and provide the perfect T20 international farewell for Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene.2012 – WEST INDIES West Indies stunned Australia in the semi-finals and then broke the hearts of Sri Lanka in a low-scoring final. Despite scoring only a modest 137, the Windies restricted the hosts to 101 in reply before Chris Gayle led his team-mates in a celebratory ‘Gangnam Style’ dance.

2010 – ENGLAND Player of the tournament Kevin Pietersen inspired England to their first ICC trophy in perfect fashion, defeating arch-rivals Australia in the West Indies.2009 – PAKISTAN A Younis Khan-led Pakistan blew Sri Lanka away in a one-sided final at Lord’s to secure their second ICC world title.2007 – INDIA India won a thrilling inaugural final against Pakistan by five runs when Misbah-ul-Haq failed to make the runs needed in the final over, inspiring their previously sceptical fanbase to embrace the T20 format.(BSS/AFP)


Comments are closed.