Thursday , January 23 2020
Home / Sports / Cricket / Afghanistan-BCB XI practice match ends in draw
Afghanistan-BCB XI practice match ends in draw
Afghanistan Cricket Team

Afghanistan-BCB XI practice match ends in draw

Dhaka – The two-day practice match between touring Afghanistan and hosts BCB Eleven ended in a draw on the 2nd and final day at MA Aziz Stadium in Chattogram on Monday amid a huge threat by Afghan spinners ahead of the one-off Test against the Tigers beginning on September 5 in Chattogram.

Afghanistan resumed the first innings on Monday with their overnight total of 242 for 6 and declared the innings for 289 for 9 in 99 overs.

In reply, BCB Eleven opened the first innings and were bundled out cheaply for 123 runs in 44.3 overs against superb spin attack by two Afghan spinners—captain cum celebrated spinner Rashid Khan and Zahir Khan.

For Bangladesh, middle order Al Amin (29), opener Anamaul Haque (19), captain Nurul Hasan (15), Fardeen Hasan (14) and Nayeem Islam (13) were only batsmen reaching the double figure.

Chinaman bowler of Afghanistan Zahir Khan bagged five wickets conceding just 24 runs while world famed spinner Rashid Khan took three for 26 runs to restrict the host team to a poor total.

Leading by 166 runs in the first innings, Afghanistan opened the 2nd innings in the late afternoon and scored 14 runs for no loss in 3.5 overs when the bails were drawn for the 2nd and final day with Javed Ahamedi and Rahmatullah Shah in batting with 12 and 2 runs respectively.

Earlier, in the first day (Sunday), Afghanistan opted to bat first after winning the toss. They scored 289/9 declared in the first innings despite a 131-run opening stand, featuring fifties by two openers– Ihsanullah and Ibrahim Zadran.

For BCB XI, part-time spinner Al Amin bagged four wickets for 51 runs while Sumon Khan took three for 43 runs.

The first Test between Bangladesh and Afghanistan will take place from September 5 at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in the port city.

After the Test, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Zimbabwe will lock horns in a tri-series T20 tournament to be played in Dhaka and Chattogram.