Friday , July 10 2020
Home / Sports / Cricket / BCB announces team for U-19 World Cup
BCB announces team for U-19 World Cup
BCB announces team for U-19 World Cup

BCB announces team for U-19 World Cup

Dhaka  — Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Saturday announced team for the next year’s ICC Under-19 World Cup which is set to take place in South Africa. Wicketkeeper-batsman Akbar Ali will lead the junior Tigers in the World Cup while Tawhid Hridoy will play the role of his deputy.

A total of 16 teams will fight for the title, divided into four groups. India, Japan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka are placed in Group A while Australia, England, Nigeria and West Indies are in Group B. Bangladesh, Pakistan, Scotland and Zimbabwe are in Group C while Afghanistan, Canada, South Africa and the United Arab Emirates are in Group D.

Bangladesh will face Zimbabwe in their first game at JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom in South Africa on January 18 before taking on Scotland and Pakistan on January 21 and 24.

Before the main event, Bangladesh are scheduled to play two practice matches against Afghanistan and Potchefstroom Under 19 team. They have two warm-up games as well which will take place on January 13 and 15 against Australia and New Zealand respectively.

Top two teams of each group will qualify to Super League quarter-finals while the bottom two teams will have to play in Plate quarter-finals.

The winners of Super League quarter-finals will advance to the Semifinals while the winners of the Plate quarter-finals will qualify for the Plate semifinals.

Bangladesh team will leave the country for Johannesburg on January 3.

Bangladesh U-19 squad for World Cup 2020: Akbar Ali (Captain), Tawhid Hridoy (Vice-Captain), Tanzid Hasan Tanim, Mohammad Parvez Hossain Emon, Prantik Nawrose Nabil, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Shahadat Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Mohammad Mirttunjoy Chowdhury Nipun, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Avishek Das, Shoriful Islam, Mohammad Shahin Alom, Rakibul Hasan and Hasan Morad

Stand by: Amite Hasan, SM Meherob Hasan, Ashraful Islam Siam, Minhazur Rahman Mohanna, Rubel Mia and Asadullah Hill Galib.UNB