Sunday , July 12 2020
Home / Governance / Election / BNP, its allies submit 1000 nominations
BNP, its allies submit 1000 nominations
Jatiya Oikya Front - File photo

BNP, its allies submit 1000 nominations

Dhaka, Nov 28 – Around 1,000 aspirants from the major opposition BNP and its allies in both the Jatiya Oikya Front and 20-party alliance submitted nomination papers against all the 300 constituencies before their respective returning officers to contest the forthcoming general elections slated for December 30, according to sources.Of them, a total of 822 aspirants submitted nomination papers alone from the BNP, the major partner in both the opposition alliances, in all the 300 constituencies while Jamaat-e-Islami in 61, Gano Forum in
around 50, Nagorik Oikya in nine, Jatiya Party (Kazi Zafar) in five, LDP in three constituencies.
Three BNP candidates Kamal Mollah, Dr Anwar and Monwar Hossain submitted nomination papers for Dhaka-17, Netrakona Sadar and Jamalpur-2 respectively after receiving party nomination letters
Being failed to complete seat-sharing among the partners, the BNP, the major partner in both the Jatiya Oikyafront and 20-party alliance, will finalise its party and alliance candidates and their seats after
scrutiny of candidatures on December 9.
Earlier, the BNP and its allies, on strategic grounds, decided to submit their nomination from their respective parties and finalise alliance candidates after reaching an understanding on seat sharing
among the partners what they said due to time limitations.
Meanwhile, BNP’s jailed chairperson Khaleda Zia yesterday submitted her nomination papers from Feni-1, Bogura-6 and Bogura-7 constituencies. Three other candidates including party secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and Morshed Milton also submitted nominations papers respectively from Bogura-6 and Bogura-7 seats as alternative candidates in case of the former premier’s candidatures
are cancelled due to legal grounds.
Mirza Alamgir will also contest from the Thakurgaon-1 constituency, Dr Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain from Cumulla-1 and Cumilla-2, Barrister Moudud Ahmed from Noakhali-5, Mirza Abbas from Dhaka-8, and Goyeshwar Chandra Roy from Dhaka-3 constituencies.
In a major development, three senior BNP leaders- Abdul Awal Mintoo, joint secretary generals Habibun Nabi Khan Sohel and Syed Moazzem Hossain Alal-have decided at the last moment not to contest the elections, confirmed BNP chairperson’s media wing officer Sayrul Kabir Khan. He, however, could not tell the reasons behind their decisions.
Gano Forum president Dr Kamal Hossain will not take part in the elections but as many as party’s 50 aspirants submitted nomination papers to contest the polls. Of them, the party’s executive president
Advocate Subrata Chowdhury wants to take part in the election from Dhaka-6 while general secretary Mostafa Mohsin Montu either from Dhaka-2 or Dhaka-3 or Dhaka-7, Khalequzzaman from Mymensingh-8, and Joglul Haider Afric from Narsingdi-2 constituencies, said party publicity secretary Rafiqul Islam Pothik.
President of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) ASM Abdur Rab submitted nomination papers from Luxmipur-4 and its general secretary Abdul Malek Ratan from Cumilla-4 constituencies.
Nine aspirants from Nagorik Oikya submitted nominations papers, of them its convenor Mahmudur Rahman Manna submitted nomination paper from Bogura-2 constituency, said Mahmudur Rahman Manna.
A total of 61 Jamaat candidates submitted nomination papers from 61 constituencies though the BNP gave green signal to its 24 candidates, said a city Jamaat leader.
Among the other partners in the 20-party alliance, BJP president Andalib Rahman Partha submitted nomination paper from Bhola-1, NPP chairman Fariduzzaman Farhar from Narail-2, Sayed Ahmed of the
Sammoyabadi Dal from Narayanganj-5, Syed Muhammed Ibrahim of Kallyan Party from Chattagram-5, Col (retd) Oli Ahmed of the LDP from Chattagram-14 and Syed Golam Mohiudidn of the Jomiyat-e-Ulamaye Islam from Cumilla-6 constituencies.
Besides, Redwan Ahmed of the LDP submitted nomination papers for Cumilla-7, Sahadat Hossain Selim for Luxmipur-1, Shahinur Pasha of the Jomiyat-e-Ulamaye Islam for Sunamganj-3, and Mostafizur Rahman Iran of the Labour Party for Pirojpur-2 constituencies.
Jatiya Party (Kazi Zafar) submitted nomination papers from five constituencies, of them, Mostafa Jamal Haider submitted nomination paper for Pirojpur-1, TIM Fazle Rabbi Chowdhury for Gaibandha-3, SMM
Alam for Chandpur-3, Ahsan Habib Linkon for Kustia-2 and Selim Master for Brahmanbaria-4 constituencies. – Staff Reporter