Tuesday , July 7 2020
Home / Sports / Football / Dhaka Abahani reach quarterfinal eliminating Arambagh KS 5-1
Dhaka Abahani reach quarterfinal eliminating Arambagh KS 5-1
Fed Cup Dhaka Abahani reach quarterfinal eliminating Arambagh KS

Dhaka Abahani reach quarterfinal eliminating Arambagh KS 5-1

Dhaka – Reigning Champions Dhaka Abahani Limited reached the quarterfinals of the ongoing TVS 31st Federation Cup Football Tournament as the unbeaten champions of Group A crushing Arambagh KriraSangha by 5-1 goals in their second and last Group A match at the Bangabandhu National Stadium here on Thursday.

The Group A Champions Dhaka Abahani will play against the Group C Runners-Up in the first quarterfinal on December 30 at the same venue.

Bangladesh Police Football Club, which emerged runners-up of the Group A, will play against Group C champions on December 31.

Nigerian forward Sunday Chizoba, national colored forward NabibNewazZiban, defender NasirUddinChowdhury, midfielder Mamunul Islam Mamun and forward Faisal Ahmed Shitol netted one goal each for the Dhanmondi outfit while forward Murad HossainChowdhury scored the consolation goal for Arambagh KS.

In the day’s goal-fest match, Nigerian forward Sunday opened account for the Dhanmondi outfit with a right-footed close range shot inside the box, off a cut back pass from midfielder Md Jewel Rana in the 9th minute (1-0).

Arambagh KS got a chance to level their margin in the 17th minute but their local midfielder Imran HossainRubel missed the target from inside the box.

Dhaka Abahani could double their margin in the first half, but a long-range shot by Haitian forward Kervens Belfort was canceled by the referee M Z F Nahid due to off-side.

After the half-time, the holders Dhaka Abahani put full pressure on Arambagh defenders with attacking football.

Arambagh got another blow while Dhaka Abahani stuck two goals in a span of five minutes. Ziban sent the ball home from a square pass by defender RayhanHasan in the 52nd minute (2-0) and defender Nasir buried the ball with a header from goal mouth melee utilizing a long throw-in by Rayhan (3-0) in the 57th minute.

In the 73rd minute, Mamun netted team’s fourth goal for the popular sky-blue Dhaka Abahani, off a short pass from Sunday (4-0) and substitute forward Shitol scored the fifth with a header from a cross of another substitute forward Ruble Mia in the 78th minute (5-0).


Forward Murad Hossain Chowdhury scored the consolation goal for Arambagh KS in the 85th minute.

Earlier, holders Dhaka Abahnai Limited started their campaign in the Federation Cup beating Bangladesh Police FC by 4-0 goals in the opening match.

Police FC also brightened their chances for quarterfinal beating Arambagh KS by 3-1 goals in their last group match.

Dhaka Abahani Ltd: ShahidulAlamSohel, RayhanHasan, NasirUddinChowdhury, Mamunul Islam Mamun, NabibNewazZiban, Sunday Chizoba/Faisal Ahmed Shitol, SohelRana, SaadUddin, Kervens Belfort/Rubel Mia, AlaaeldinNaserEissa, Md Jewel Rana.

ArambaghKriraSangha: Yonta Michael, DidarulHoque, Krishno Mali, Abdul BatenKomal/MdSayde, Mostofa Mahmoud, MdRasel, Zahidul Islam Babu/Parvez Mia, Arafat Mia, Rakibul Islam Shaon/UttamBarua, Imran HossainRubel, MuradHossainChowdhury.UNB