Monday , March 30 2020
Home / Governance / Courts, law / Over 1,000 journos demand Khaleda’s release before eid
Over 1,000 journos demand Khaleda’s release before eid
BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia.

Over 1,000 journos demand Khaleda’s release before eid

Dhaka, May 26 (UNB) – Over a thousand pro-BNP journalists on Sunday demanded the release of BNP chairperson Khaleda Zia from jail before the upcoming Eid-ul-Fitr.

“We urge the government to immediately free the three-time elected former Prime Minister and BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia. We demand the government ensure the end of her incarceration before the forthcoming Eid-ul-Fitr,” said a statement issued by pro-BNP 1,017 journalists.

They also voiced deep concern over the health condition of Khaleda since doctors said she has been suffering from acute pain in her two hands and arms with high level of blood sugar. “Even, she can’t eat normally due to blisters inside her mouth.”

They alleged that the BNP chairperson has been kept in jail for a long time through various tricks.

“Khaleda Zia is the first female Prime Minister of the country. As a nation, it’s our responsibility to ensure her minimum human and basic rights, and justice to her,” the statement reads.

Recalling Khaleda’s contributions to the country’s development and various sectors, the journalists said pushing her towards death in custody is an “inhuman, illogical vindictive and unacceptable” act.  

“We hope the government will respect democracy and mass people’s demand by immediately freeing her (from jail).
On February 8, 2018, Khaleda was sent to Old Dhaka Central Jail as she was convicted in Zia Orphanage Trust graft case.    

Khaleda Zia has been receiving treatment at Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU) since April 1.

The signatories to the statement include journalists Reazuddin Ahmed, Amanullah, Alamgir Mohiuddin, Abul Asad, Abdul Gafur, Shawkat Mahmud, Ruhul Amin Gazi, Rezwan Siddiqui,  Ershad Majumder, Golam Tahbur, Mobaidur Rahman, MA Aziz, Sehabuddin Ahmed Nafa, Chinmoy Mutsuddi, Kamaluddin Sabuj, Rita Rahman, Khairul Anwar Mukul, Syed Abdal Ahmed, Abdus Shahid, Baker Hossain, Syed Mesbah, Hasan Hafiz, Mahmuda Chowdhury, Mamtaj Bilkis Banu, Kazi Rawnak Hossain, M Abdullah, Abdul Hye Sikder, Kader Gani Chowdhury and Jahangir Alam Prodhan.