Wednesday , July 8 2020
Home / Bangladesh / Relief embezzlement: 7 more UP chairmen, 3 members suspended
Relief embezzlement: 7 more UP chairmen, 3 members suspended

Relief embezzlement: 7 more UP chairmen, 3 members suspended

The Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives Ministry has suspended seven more Union Parishad (UP) chairmen and three members on various allegations including embezzlement of relief materials and irregularities in relief distribution amidst the ongoing crisis of coronavirus outbreak.

With the latest ones, a total of 35 public representatives have so far been suspended.A notification issued in this regard said the authorities have found various allegations brought against the public representatives authentic.

The allegations include embezzlement of relief materials, VGF rice and various irregularities while distributing these items.

Apart from these, one was suspended for traveling abroad breaching the government’s instruction to stay in electoral areas while another faced music as he arranged mass-gathering defying social distancing rules.

The suspended chairmen are – Noor-e Alam Byapari of Kedarpur UP in Barishal’s Babuganj upazila; Mizanur Rahman Khan of Rajapur UP in Bhola Sadar Upazila; Monir Hossain Mridha of Kamlapur UP in Patuakhali Sadar upazila; Shah al Shafi Ansari, of Rahanpur UP in Chapainawabganj’s Gomastapur upazila; Siddiqur Rahman Mondol of Joshai UP under Rajbari’s Pangsha Upazila; Zarjid Molla of Perli UP; and Alauddin of Joynagar UP in Narail’s Kalia upazila.

The suspended members are- M Rafiqul Islam of Gaokandia UP in Netrokona’s Durgapur upazila; Mohiuddin Sohel of Galachipa UP in Patuakhali; and Lipi Begum of Keshabpur UP of the upazila.

The notice also asked the suspended public representatives to explain through respective deputy commissioners why they shouldn’t be removed permanently from their post.

source: UNB