Women’s WT20QLF: Bangladesh, Scotland to play semis Thursday

Women’s WT20QLF: Bangladesh, Scotland to play semis Thursday


Dhaka – Bangladesh women’s cricket team will face Scotland in the 2nd semifinal of the Women’s World T20 Qualifiers at VRA Cricket Ground, Amstelveen in Netherlands on Thursday.The match will begin at 8pm [Bangladesh time].This is a must-win game for both sides for qualifying to the Women’s World T20 as only the two finalists of the eight-team qualifiers event will get the last two spots of the 10-team Women’s World T20.

Bangladesh claimed a shock victory at the Women’s T20 Asia Cup in June before winning a T20I series against host Ireland and continued their impressive form in this tournament, having three successive victories in the Pool ‘A’ battles.

Bangladesh crushed Papua New Guinea (PNG) by eight wickets, the Netherlands by seven wickets and United Arab Emirates (UAE) by eight wickets for their semifinals berth.

In their last pool match, player of the match spinner Fahima Khatun got four-for eight on her way to setting the 1st hat-trick record for Bangladesh and to become the 8th bowler among women’s T20I playing nations.

Scotland started their Pool ‘B’ journey with an emphatic nine-wicket victory against Uganda before Lost to Ireland by same margin, but stayed in the semifinal race with 27 runs victory against Thailand.

In the 1st semifinal, Pool ‘B’ leader Ireland will play against the Pool ‘A’ 2nd slot holder PNG on the same day and venue.

However, the finalists of the qualifiers will join with Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and hosts West Indies in the Women’s World T20 scheduled to be staged from November 9-25.

Bangladesh: Salma Khatun (captain), Ayasha Rahman, Fahima Khatun, Fargana Hoque Pinky, Jahanara Alam, Khadiza-Tul Kubra, Lily Rani Biswas, Nahida Akter, Nigar Sultana Joty, Rumana Ahmed, Panna Ghosh, Shamima Sultana, Sanjida Islam and Sarmin Sultana.

Scotland: Kathryn Bryce (captain), Abbi Aitken, Sarah Bryce, Priyanaz Chatterji, Becky Glen, Laura Grant, Lorna Jack, Abtaha Maqsood, Katie McGill, Jess Mills, Hannah Rainey, Rachel Scholes, Ellen Watson and Ruth Willis.UNB


Comments are closed.