16 named for Independence Award

16 named for Independence Award


The government has selected 16 distinguished personalities to honour them with highest state award ‘Swadhinata Padak- 2018’ (Independence Award) in recognition of their outstanding contributions to their respective fields.

The recipients are late Kazi Zakir Hasan, martyred intellectual SMA Rashidul Hasan, late Shankar Gobinda Chowdhury, Bir Uttam Air Vice-marshal Sultan Mahmud, late M Abdur Rahim, late Bhupati Bhushan Chowdhury alias Manik Chowdhury, Shaheed Lt M Anwarul Azim, late Humayun Rashid Chowdhury, Shaheed Amanullah Mohammad Asaduzzaman, Shaheed Matiur Rahman Mallik, Shaheed Sergeant Zahurul Haque and Amzadul Haque (Independence and Liberation War), Dr AK MD Ahsan Ali (Medical Science), Prof AK Azad Khan (Social Service), Selina Hossain (Literature) and Dr Md Abdul Mazid (Food Security).Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the awards to them at a function in the city before the Independence Day.


Comments are closed.