243 new faces inducted in BNP central bodies | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

243 new faces inducted in BNP central bodies


About 243 new faces have been inducted in the central bodies of the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP).Of them, three new faces including party secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir got berth in party standing committee, while 36 in BNP chairperson’s advisory council and 204 in the national executive committee.
The party yesterday announced it’s much-talked-about standing committee, chairperson’s advisory council and national executive committee more than four and half months after its national council held on March 19.
BNP chairperson’s adviser Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury and joint secretary general and Salahuddin Ahmed, now in India, got berth in the 19-member standing committee.
Mirza Alamgir, on behalf of chairperson, announced the 19-member standing committee, 73-member chairperson’s advisory council and 502-member national executive committee at a press conference at party central office at Naya Paltan in the city in the afternoon.
However, seven posts including two posts—17 and 18 number positions of the party’s highest policymaking body, two posts of international affairs secretary however remain blank to fill up later on.
The announcement of full fledged National Executive Committee came in the fourth phase. Earlier, names of 40 leaders of the National Executive Committee including party secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir were announced in three phases.
Begum Sarwari Rahman and M Shamsul Islam have been dropped from the previous standing committee on health ground. Sarwari Rahman however was made an adviser of the BNP chairperson.
Earlier three other posts in the standing committee have become vacant following the death of party’s then secretary general Khondoker Delwar Hossain, Dr RA Ghani and Salahuddin Quader Chowdhury.
The new central body inducted fresh bloods along with old guards to impart fresh impetus to the party’s activities. It also accommodated active and tested leaders and demoted a number of senior but inactive leaders.
Many leaders from Juba Dal, Chhatra Dal and Secchasebok Dal have also got berth in the central committee.
On the other hand, many family members have got berth in the central committees while names of many leaders have either been placed at the bottom of the list and some have been placed on the top.
IN the new standing committee list, names of Barrister Jamiruddin Sircar, Toriqul Islam, Goyeshwar Chandra Roy and Barrister Rafiqul Islam Miah have been placed at the upper row while DR Abdul Moyeen Khan and Nazrul Islam Khan at the lower rows of the standing committee member list.
Party sources said many senior leaders including Abdullah Al Noman, Sadeque Hossain Khoka, Maj (Retd) Hafizuddin Ahmed, Shah Moazzem Hossain Amanullah Aman, Joynal Abedin Faruk, Mizanur Rahman Minu and Abdus Salam did not get their desired posts.
Of them, former joint secretary general Amanullah Aman and former publicity secretary and opposition chief whip Joynal Abedin Faruk have been made chairperson advisers.
The list shows many leaders including standing committee members–Dr Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Goyeshwar Chandra Roy, Mirza Abbas, Ashifa Ashrafi Papiya, vice chairmen Justice TH Khan, Mir Nasir, Abdul Awal Mintoo, International affairs secretary Nasir Uddin AshimMir Sharafat Ali Sapu, chairperon’s adviser Harun-or Rashid Khan Munnu got family members and relatives in the committee.
Replying to a question, Mirza Alamgir termed the central committee vibrant one and hoped that it would play due role to restore democracy in the country.
Some BNP leaders expressed their resentment over the new committee terming it imbalance one.
When contacted many leaders preferred not to make any comment over the committee. Some of them however expressed their frustration over the committee.
A senior leader said the two posts in the standing committee have been kept vacant to attract the aspirant leaders. He referred accommodation of family members in the committee saying that the party is going to be a family club.
Khaleda Zia has been re-elected uncontested as the party chairperson and her elder son Tarique Rahman as the senior vice chairman. The councillors unanimously approved their election during the party’s sixth national council on March 19.
As the councillors entrusted the responsibilities, Khaleda Zia earlier announced Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir as party’s secretary general relieving him of the burden of holding the post as acting secretary general, Ruhul Kabir Rizvi as senior joint secretary general and Mizanur Rahman Sinha to continue as party’s treasurer in the first phase on March 30.
The BNP announced names of seven joint secretaries and nine organising secretaries on April 10, and one organising secretary and 20 assistant organising secretaries on April 18.-STAFF REPORTER


Comments are closed.