38 members of intelligentsia want writer killers punished | Greenwatch Dhaka | The leading online daily of Bangladesh

38 members of intelligentsia want writer killers punished


Thirty-eight intellectuals in a joint statement yesterday demanded punishment of persons those were involved in the killing of writers and publishers.
“The killers are being encouraged as the trials of perpetrators are somehow being escaped,” said the statement.
The statement signed by Kamal Lohani further said the recent killings of publishers and writers created a panic across the country.
“The communal militant groups are carrying out the killing one after another to gage the voice of free thinkers,” claimed the statement.The intellectuals regretted that the government failed to bring the killers to justice even after the killings of five writers.
They also observed the perpetrators those were arrested by the law enforcers in this connection are being released and they get involve in such crimes again.
“Such reluctance of the government frustrated the free-thinkers and deprived the people from their rights of security and created panic in their minds,” said the statement.
They intellectuals criticized the government hierarchy for their suggestions for writers to be restrained instead of bringing the killers to justice.
“It appears that writing is more offensive than killers. In anyway, we cannot accept such condition,” the statement added.
It further said the people cannot accept the responsibility f the failure of the government and its intelligent agencies.
Terming article 57 of the ICT law as a black law, the statement demanded cancellation of the article.
The signatories in the statement include—Ahmed Rafiq, Sheikh Muhammed Shahidullah, Kamal Lohani, Prof Anisuzzaman, Prof Sirajul Islam Chowdhury, Prof Zatin Sarker, Dr Ajoy Roy, Hasan Azizul Haque, Shuvo Rahman, Syed Hasan Imam, Prof Shafiuddin Ahmed, Shahruar Kabir, Ramendu Majumder, Mamunur Rashid, Mushtari Shafi, Dr Anupom Sen, Prof Jafar Iqbal, Prof MM Akash, Prof Anu Mohammed, Prof Mahfuza Khanom and Selina Hossain. – Staff Reporter


Comments are closed.