Barisal reduce Rajshahi's hopes of final four

Barisal reduce Rajshahi’s hopes of final four


Dhaka – Barisal Bulls defeated Rajshahi Kings by 17 runs in their 11th league encounter of the 4th Bangladesh Premier League T20 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.Barisal, the side already out of last-four race, advanced to penultimate slot pushing down Comilla Victorians into the last position in the points table of the seven-team franchised tournament while Rajshahi cling to their previous 4th place.After the day’s result, Rajshahi collected 10 points from 11 games,having five wins and six loses, that reduced their chance to stay in the race of final-four team Play-off stage as Rangpur Riders followed them with equal 10 points, but from 10 outings having five wins and five loses,UNB News Agency Reported.In the day’s match, chasing a target of 162, Rajshahi played out 20 overs to collect 144 for 7 wickets with Samit Patel’s half century of 62 off 51 balls, including seven boundaries and one six.Patel was caught by Shahriar Nafees off Rayad Emrit bowling, leaving team collection at 129/6 in 18.2 overs.James Franklin (18), opener Mominul Haque (16), Nurul Hasan (12) and skipper Darren Sammy (not out 11) were the other double figure scorers for the side.Man of the match ‘Emrit’ captured three wickets for 27 runs in four overs.Enamul Haque, Monir Hossain, Kamrul Islam Rabbi and Thisara Perera took one wicket each for 6, 17, 27 and 35 runs respectively.Dawid Malan half century of 56 helped Barisal Bulls score 161
four-wickets in 20 overs against Rajshahi Kings.Sent in to bat first, Barisal Bulls were powered by the 2nd pair contribution of 100 in 11.5 overs between Malan and Fazle Mahmud.
Starting from 7 for 1 in 1.4 overs, the 2nd pair repaired the early devastation carrying the team total to 107 for 2 in 13.3 overs,before Malan was run out making his half century off 33 balls that included six boundaries and three over boundaries.Fazle Mahmud fell short of seven runs for a half century, departed from crease on the same team collection in the last ball of 14th over.Fazle Mahmud scored run-a-ball 43, including four boundaries and two over boundaries, and was caught by Mehedi Hasan Miraz off Farhad Reza’s bowling.
Number-5 batsman Thisara Perera scored unbeaten 29 off 22 balls,including four boundaries, while Shahriar Nafees played a fierce innings off 6 balls for another unbeaten figure of 16 runs that witnessed two over boundaries.Delivering four overs each, Mohammad Sami, Farhad Reza and Mehedi Hasan Miraz took one wicket apiece for 16, 32 and 34 runs


Comments are closed.